So how do you know that what you are doing is the right thing?

That would be the question of the day.  Well, since last Thursday, I guess.  So today, I’ve been prompted to read Job instead of continuing in Matthew.  At least for today.

Does Job fear God for nothing?”satan replied.  Have you not put a hedge around him and his household and everything he has?  You have blessed the work of his hands, so that his flocks and herds are spread throughout the land.  But stretch out your hand and strike everything he has and he will surely curse you to your face.” Job 1:9-11

Now I am by no means comparing my bad week or experiences with Job, but come on….if anyone knows how to withstand satan’s attacks, I figure he does.  My maladies seem to all be coming from one very unhappy lady who I tried to help with kindness and the Lord’s wisdom.  But, being unhappy and without the Lord’s wisdom, she does not know how to take such goodness and in retaliation, she has hit me with whatever she can:  a horrible mouth that my kids were subjected to, my pocketbook (even though she had to resort to lying to hit it….), attacking my very FAITH in Christ, and our family vacation.  Leaving ugly messages on my answering machine while I am out witnessing to people, lying and trying to steal money from me, and taking away our family vacation we have spent months planning for…….Job losing his cattle, losing his sheep, losing his servants, and ultimately losing his children.  I know, really doesn’t compare, but that’s where I’m at.

At this, Job got up and tore his robe and shaved his head.  Then he fell to the ground in WORSHIP and said:  Naked I came from my mother’s womb, and naked I will depart.  The Lord gave and the Lord has taken away; may the name of the Lord be praised.” Job 1:20-21

In all this, Job did not sin by charging God with wrongdoing. Job 1:22

I have to admit, these last couple of days, it has been very difficult to focus or concentrate on anything else.  Even on poor Chandler’s birthday, I ended up thinking on what we should do, and sadly, the horrible injustice of it all.  I have done nothing, and yet, it’s me (and my family) that is having to pay the price.  And the price seems to be: pay for a vacation we aren’t going to take AND pay her money to cancel and an amount 3 times inflated because she’s mean and unfair like that.  Where this seems right, I’ve yet to figure out, and therein lies my problem, and ultimately, why I’m sitting here reading my Bible and asking God for His wisdom, because where I sit, I have none.  No where in the Bible does it say I can smack her in her lying mouth….and yes, I’ve looked.  I’m not perfect, I’ve already stated that.  You people are lucky I read and pray…. ;0)

And I am humbled by what I read….

1-6Then Eliphaz from Teman spoke up:  “Would you mind if I said something to you? Under the circumstances it’s hard to keep quiet.
You yourself have done this plenty of times, spoken words that clarify, encouraged those who were about to quit.  Your words have put stumbling people on their feet, put fresh hope in people about to collapse. But now you’re the one in trouble—you’re hurting!   You’ve been hit hard and you’re reeling from the blow.  But shouldn’t your devout life give you confidence now?  Shouldn’t your exemplary life give you hope?  7-11 “Think! Has a truly innocent person ever ended up on the scrap heap?   Do genuinely upright people ever lose out in the end?  It’s my observation that those who plow evil and sow trouble reap evil and trouble.  One breath from God and they fall apart,  one blast of his anger and there’s nothing left of them.
The mighty lion, king of the beasts, roars mightily,  but when he’s toothless he’s useless—No teeth, no prey—and the cubs wander off to fend for themselves.

Job 5:8-16 “If I were in your shoes, I’d go straight to God,  I’d throw myself on the mercy of God. After all, he’s famous for great and unexpected acts; there’s no end to his surprises.  He gives rain, for instance, across the wide earth, sends water to irrigate the fields.  He raises up the down-and-out, gives firm footing to those sinking in grief. He aborts the schemes of conniving crooks, so that none of their plots come to term.  He catches the know-it-alls in their conspiracies— all that intricate intrigue swept out with the trash!  Suddenly they’re disoriented, plunged into darkness;
   they can’t see to put one foot in front of the other. But the downtrodden are saved by God, saved from the murderous plots, saved from the iron fist.
And so the poor continue to hope, while injustice is bound and gagged.

And THIS….THIS is why I read.  THIS is why I hope!  THIS is why I trust and rely on God!  And the heavens opened up and the ANGELS SANG AND REJOICED!  HAAAAAAAAAAA!  You have NO idea the foolishness I am doing right now!  LOL  This is the ANSWER I needed!  I don’t have to worry and stress and CRY over the injustice of it, God will take care of it!  I don’t have to be angry and upset and resentful!  And I don’t have to smack anyone in their lying mouth….God will pull her teeth out!

OK, I got you on that one….LOL  Come on, you gotta admit that was funny!  OK, yes, I may be struck by lightning on that one, but it was still funny….

I will wait, and I will pray.  And I will trust God.  I give up my beautiful vacation on the pristine white beaches on the Gulf of Mexico.  I wrap it all up and present it as a gift to God.  And I will be alright with that.  I trust that He has something BIGGER and BETTER than anything I could have planned anyway.  I just enjoy being with my family.  My boys that are rowdy and rambunctious and my sweet, beautiful daughter who can be just as rowdy and rambunctious.  And my poor husband who has to put up with us all.

I will do nothing for now but wait and PRAY, and that includes worrying and stressing.  So if I am doing either of those, please just V-8 slap me on the forehead.

