Tags

, , , , ,

Oh this has been a BUSY couple of weeks. So I will sum up some of the hi-lights or low-lights depending on the story. ;)

Thanks to the Wonderful Government (and I use that term VERY loosely, mind you…), we are getting a tax return this year. And, because we have been very careful with our money last year, we do not have to play catch-up on a years worth of bills. And this has afforded me the luxury of upgrading my camera!

:::::pause for cheering crowd:::::: Ok, the cheering may just be me…but there’s a lot of it going on.

I didn’t think I’d be able to upgrade my camera (Nikon D80 I’ve had for almost 2 years now) for a long time, if ever. So I’ve been doing a LOT of shopping around and reading every review known to man and trying to make sense of whatever information I read. I need the “Choosing a camera for Dummies” review, but, sadly, I have been unable to find THAT one. Hmpfff.

But I did discover Ken Rockwell, and may have a slight camera-crush on him. He is very knowledgeable, and speaks to us “normal” folks in a language I can somewhat understand, instead of this Camera-lingo that you have to have a DEGREE in just to read the review. So thank you Ken….I heart you.

I believe I have made the decision to go with the Nikon D90. If money were NO object, I’d go D300 or probably even the D3 or D700, but come on…who are we fooling? My Fairy Godmother has abandoned me. Or she’s dead. Doesn’t matter, she’s not present. And I see no one banging on my door to invest in my “company”, so I have to go with what I can afford. Thank you, Uncle Sam. I’ll take the D90 for $1200, Alex.

And because of great shopping, and the wonderful advice of fantastic photographers that I have driven INSANE for the last week and a half, I will be purchasing 3 lenses as well (well 1 comes WITH the D90, but I don’t care, it still counts doggonit).

So, that has occupied a lot of my time. Photography is NOT easy sometimes, and making decisions on a limited budget is possibly the WORST. UGH. But thank you to all the ones that have visited my blog and commented on my photos. Now, hire me to shoot your children. ;) Have a newborn? I am DESPERATE for new babies to shoot! I am a lover of COLOR, and contrasting photos. And from the looks of my photos compared to a lot of other professionals, I am not run of the mill, and that can be either good or bad. But call me a Photo-whore, because I’m to the point I’ll shoot anything for money.

Wait. Back the truck up. Pause that, and rewind. I will do ALMOST anything for money. Some people are just nasty….I don’t shoot NA-STAY. Nope. Not even for money. And don’t think I haven’t been asked. Twice. EEK!

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I was also called a HYPOCRITE the other day. Nice. Real sweet huh? And coming from someone I haven’t actually ever met either, how funny is that? One of those Imaginary People that live in my computer, has never met me, does not know my family, does not go to church with me.

hyp⋅o⋅crite
   /ˈhɪpəkrɪt/ –noun
1. a person who pretends to have virtues, moral or religious beliefs, principles, etc., that he or she does not actually possess, esp. a person whose actions belie stated beliefs.
2. a person who feigns some desirable or publicly approved attitude, esp. one whose private life, opinions, or statements belie his or her public statements.

I have to say, that really hurt. It has bugged me for DAYS! And then, God showed me something: He had me look at my life, all of it, the good, the bad, the ugly, the in-between. If I found anything that was contrary to His word, than the title would fit. And I never pretend, I am who I am everywhere I go. I am not perfect, never have professed to be. I am the same here as I am at home. I am the same on any message boards, as I am here, as I am at home. I am the same at church as I am at home….except my pajamas. I don’t wear those to church. I would if they’d let me, and don’t think I haven’t thought about it. ;)

So after examining my life, I’ve come to the adult, wise decision that this lady can suck it. :D If the vine does not bear any see-able fruit, cut it off and throw it in the fire. I will pray she bears fruit soon. The fire is HOT. ;)

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

And lastly, let’s have a good laugh together, shall we?

Let’s all say “YAY Leviticus” together…..

You know I like to read the Bible outloud to Brooklyn whenever I can. So I’m doing my daily Bible reading in Leviticus in the bed with Brooklyn curled up all sweet and cozy next to me. Let’s read together…

The Lord said to Moses and Aaron, “Give the following instructions to the people of Israel.

“Any man who has a bodily discharge is ceremonially unclean. This defilement is caused by his discharge, whether the discharge continues or stops. In either case the man is unclean.

:0 Oh my…..OH MY!

Great…..are you getting this Brooklyn? She laughs right along with me, and I continue:

“Whenever a man has an emission of semen, he must bathe his entire body in water, and he will remain ceremonially unclean until the next evening. Any clothing or leather with semen on it must be washed in water, and it will remain unclean until evening. After a man and a woman have sexual intercourse, they must each bathe in water, and they will remain unclean until the next evening.

Oh that’s lovely….Brooklyn giggles harder which makes ME giggle like a jr high kid in a sex-ed class….wait…..is she UNDERSTANDING more than I’m giving her credit for?? Great….

Whenever a woman has her menstrual period, she will be ceremonially unclean for seven days.

OK, that’s all it says, Brooklyn! Good night, sweetie!

YAY Leviticus!! And my sweet, innocent child throws her hands up in the air and shouts right along with me, “YAY Yabiticus!” :D

Some things are better left read silently. ;)

So there ya go….a little bit of this….a lot of that…and a new camera coming.

dsc_1078-copy2

