I had a dream the other night. It was one of those surreal dreams where you can SEE yourself in the dream, watch yourself, know the thoughts you are thinking in the dream, and yet, at the same time, you are watching from somewhere above and can see and know things that the “me” in the dream can’t see or know.

Confused yet? That’s alright, it’s probably rambling anyway…

But in the dream, I was with my family and we were doing all kinds of fun stuff together: went to this big farm where they had this large pumpkin patch, went shopping at a home improvement store, and went to a small amusement park.

Just normal errands or activities that a family would do. We laughed and overall had a good time. The boys ran ahead throwing the football back and forth like they are prone to do. And Brooklyn ran back and forth between her brothers and Mike and I. They even bickered like they normally do at times.

But what the “me” in the dream didn’t see or know, but the “me” watching from above could see……

…was we were being pursued by something.

It really is hard to describe other than it was Dark and it was not good, almost like an ever-growing shadow. And it was constantly pursuing us.

Remember the movie “The Neverending Story”? The Nothing? Picture that, but in Shadow form. It was scary! And there was no way of warning the “me” in the dream. I could see it always back there, turning and moving……and always coming closer.

And yet, somehow, we always stayed one step ahead of it. It might come close, but it never overtook us. We might get a good jog ahead of it, but it was always coming.

And the “me” in the dream had no idea. We maintained our normal schedule, we continued with our plans, and lived life like a normal day.

I woke up from the dream shaken and scared because I could see the impending Dark behind us and knew the Evil that was back there.

Today, it kind of made sense. Some days, we do really well: we are fully trusting Christ to meet our every need, we have faith that God is hearing us, and we know that He will take care of us. Those are GOOD days! I LIVE for those days!

And then, there are days like today when the weight of the world, the weight of our job-less situation sits heavy on us and makes it hard to breathe. Days like today when faith is completely lost and it’s hard to trust in anything!

These type of days, the Shadow is close to overtaking us and enveloping us and whispers to us “Christmas is coming…..Santa has nothing for your kids.” “2 more weeks, and then your last house payment is spent, and January’s coming.” “No one’s calling. You’re finished.” And it’s easy to listen to it, to block out all the good that God has done for us, and just listen to that dark, whispering shadow.

Give all your worries and cares to God, for he cares about you.

Stay alert! Watch out for your great enemy, the devil. He prowls around like a roaring lion, looking for someone to devour. Stand firm against him, and be strong in your faith.

1 Peter 5:7-9a

That’s why it’s so important to stay in the Word of God. God reminds me with verses like these when the Dark starts whispering. He reminds me in strange dreams that I can’t understand til days later and by then, I’ve already found the verses I need to hold onto and remember and meditate on.

Job 4:6
Doesn’t your reverence for God give you confidence?Doesn’t your life of integrity give you hope?

Job 11:18
Having hope will give you courage.You will be protected and will rest in safety.

Psalm 10:17
Lord, you know the hopes of the helpless.Surely you will hear their cries and comfort them.

Psalm 33:22
Let your unfailing love surround us, Lord,for our hope is in you alone.

Jeremiah 29:11
For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.

Father God, today, I was afraid. Today, I dropped my eyes from You and looked around at what is surrounding us. Today, I did not fair so well. Thank You for giving me hope. Thank You for encouraging me and reminding me where my Hope comes from. Lord, forgive me for losing my faith and failing to trust You. Thank You for the provisions You have for us. Please help us stand strong. Help me to be strong for Mike when he needs me. Send us something. We want Your perfect will for us. Give us guidance and direction and keep us always focused on You. Help us to be thankful for all You’ve done for us. In Jesus mighty name…..

