Tags

, ,

Mike and I celebrated our 18th Wedding anniversary this past Monday. And considering I’m only “28”…I think I’ve done pretty well. ;) (It’s a joke….I’m not really 28) WOW! It’s been a ride, I’ll tell you! It’s had it’s ups and downs, and yet, still, we’ve made it this far! Not bad!

I have to attribute our success to a whole-lotta prayer! Marriage isn’t easy and it isn’t always pretty, but our foundation was firmly placed on an unshaking, unwavering faith in Jesus and that’s gotten us through a lot of heartache.

I have a prayer journal that I started a few years ago, and I use it everyday, faithfully. However, having children around, it isn’t always safe from the pens and pencils and markers and crayons of a certain 4 year old who is just starting to write her name and now I’m find BOO written IN and ON everything. Not that I’m calling out my dear, perfect daughter AT.ALL. She does at least throw the K, R, L, Y, and N randomly on the pages as well, but B-O-O is always the forefront of what she writes.

So because of various scribblings of a beautiful daughter, I’ve had to switch over my prayers into a new journal….one that’s pretty with sparkles and jewels on it. :D And in doing this, I’ve revamped my prayers quite a bit to be more specific and more in depth.

Because I’m kind and generous, I thought I’d share some of my prayers for my husband, for myself, and for our marriage in general….ya know, because it was our 18th Wedding anniversary and it’s my blog and ultimately all about ME. ;)

I always pray first for the Holy Spirit to convict me of my sin. I want everything ugly and wrong to be brought out and forgiven, so that’s always where I begin. (I’m not God’s bright and shining star ALL the time, so I have to pray for myself. A lot. heh.)

I have no delight or desire on earth but You. My flesh and my heart may fail, but You, God are the Rock and firm strength of my heart and my portion forever. Psalm 73:25 & 26

Purpose of this prayer is to remind me that above all else, my focus should always be on Him, and I shouldn’t seek to find fulfillment in anyone or anything but Him. We’re human, and especially for women, susceptible to trying to find our worth in things of the earth. Our worth is not our husband. Our worth is NOT our children. Our worth is NOT what we do for a career, job, or hobby. Our worth is NOT our riches, popularity, or status. Our worth is in Christ alone. Period. End of discussion. Same goes for men. Christ is our fulfillment. Not our wives, not our girlfriends, and not the “hootchie” down the street. Our desire is Christ alone. (I could go on there, but I won’t. Today.)

Help me/us, to be a person/woman that builds our house UP and not tear it down. Proverbs 14:1

Oh yes…..the mouth. We are to build each other up and how often do we tear each other, our marriages and our children DOWN. I see it all the time. I hear it all the time. I want my mouth to praise my family and my home and not go on and on about how bad it is, how bad my husband is, how bad my child/children are. I want to be the one to always build them up. That should always ALWAYS start at home. May the words of my mouth and the meditations of my heart be PLEASING to You, O God, my Rock and Salvation.

Help us to be helpers to each other suitable for each other. Genesis 2:18

Help me to be the wife/husband, Mike/I have full confidence in. Help me/us to bring each other GOOD, and not harm all of our days. Proverbs 31:11 & 12

Let me be the kind of wife/husband that always respects and reveres my husband/wife–help me to always:
–notice him
–regard him
–honor him
–and prefers him
And I always give him
–praise
–love
–and admiration exceedingly!
Ephesians 5:33

Help us to be a good teacher to our children on a Godly spouse. Titus 2:4

Keep us only for each other with a desire to please only each other. Song of Solomon

I know I put wife/husband, or us/me. I usually go through and pray it all for MYSELF first, and then go through the same verses in Mike’s perspective. I do these everyday over myself, Mike and our marriage.

Just thought I’d share. Now, no laughin’!

BE KIND and ALWAYS pray for your spouse!

Dana

