This is one of those posts that if you are easily offended, you probably should just close it now.   ;)

Here is a little list of some of my big pet peeves:  (buckle up!)

gay:  adjective,-er, -est, noun, adverb

  • having or showing a merry, lively mood: gay spirits; gay music.
  • bright or showy: gay colors; gay ornaments.
  • given to or abounding in social or other pleasures: a gay social season.
  • licentious; dissipated; wanton: The baron is a gay old rogue with an eye for the ladies.
  • homosexual

Please observe:  nowhere in these definitions does GAY mean stupid/ignorant/weird/etc.  So, if you are using phrases like “That’s gay”  you are showing your ignorance.   If someone interchanged the word ‘Christian’ with stupid, I’d be removing someone’s teeth the hard way.  It’s like using the phrase “Jew them down”….it’s an insult.  Don’t use it. 

You cannot interchange GAY with stupid. 

It really irks me when weathermen use the phrase “significant rain event”.  Um.  Huh?  It’s rain….call it RAIN!  An event is a concert or something you generally want to ATTEND.  Rain isn’t something we have a choice over whether or not we ATTEND!  No one is selling popcorn or peanuts at this ‘event’, just call it a RAIN!  If’ it’s going to be ‘significant’…..SIGNIFICANT RAIN is just fine!  Leave off event and end the sentence!  It doesn’t make you sound like a smarter weatherman, it makes me want to sit on your chest and force feed you worms! 

Rain is rain.  Not an event.

It drives me insane when people believe that the bigger words they use, the more intelligent they are.  Let’s call it for what it is:  it’s pride, it’s attempting to make your listener feel inferior, and ultimately YOU feeling superior!  Maybe I’m just a simple girl that uses simple language, and I’m just being picky.  But I don’t think so.  I have a pretty expansive vocabulary.  I’ve read hundreds of thousands of books, and I’m pretty intelligent.  But I do not endeavor to make others feel subjacent to my vast collection of vernacular! Annoying isn’t it?  Maybe that’s truly what I have an issue with….people talking down to me.  Oh that will be another blog.  I’ll save that one.  ;)  Pins and needles….needles and pins…..

Maybe this is just one of those days I should have stayed under my rock.  I have lots of posts I need to get to, however, I’m just swamped.  I have more things on my plate right now, then I have PLATE!  Lots of stress and just overall WORK for me to do and I am without time to complete it all.  So, my poor blog is suffering.  I need a real vacation.

Calgon….take me away?

Dana

