Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I love this photo!  It just shows the deep-down heart of a boy!   It isn’t staged or posed or perfect!  It’s a NATURAL photo and I love it!  (I’m really working on capturing the spontaneous moments as well!  Those are my very favorites!)

Here are my edits of this adorable photo:

I opened up the Raw file in Camera Raw and made my basic edits:  adjusted the white balance, exposure, and tint.  Then I opened up the file in CS4 to finish the photo.  I used a high pass filter to sharpen it and then saved the file.  Very basic.

I used the basic edit from before and ran Essential Kits “Marta loves color”, the “Glamour Portrait” and adjusted the opacity of the layers to my liking.  Because I used the original first edit, I did not have to sharpen again!  (I’m a THINKER!)  I loved how this edit made the fall colors POP!  I’m jealous of the fall colors….Oklahoma doesn’t have any yet.  Sigh.  Yes, I’m sad.

This edit, I used the original edit again and then ran Florabella’s Spring Set I, “Vintage Spring II” then “Sun & Lensflare (right)” reduced to 42% so I wouldn’t lose all the detail and fall colors behind it, and then their “sharpen/defog”.   (This is also the photo up top with a burned edge.  I liked how the burned edges brought out the details in the trees.  This photo here doesn’t have the burned edges.  Are you still following me or are you totally confused now?)

I wasn’t going to do a black and white, and then on a whim, I decided to go ahead and do it.  I used Florabella action “B/W Rain” and “Sharpen/Defog” from her Spring Set II.  I adjusted the B/W Rain layer down to about 65% to reduce some of the yellow tint to the photo, and then adjusted the levels in the photo to make it more contrasted.  (Is that a word?  My spell check didn’t flash at me, so I’m guessing so.)

And those are my edits!

Now, here is my advice:  wait and watch for those spontaneous moments!  Watch for the interactions between the family or between a couple and catch those photos!  Let the kids play after the session is over, and then shoot those candid shots!  Those always end up being my very favorite ones!

And, be kind.

Dana

Here’s the story of a lovely lady, who was bringing up three very lovely girls.   All of them had hair of gold, like their mother, the youngest one in curls.

(You just never know what you’re gonna get……)

My photographic journey began in July in 2007 where I assumed I would purchase the expensive camera, and all my photos would be breathtaking, and I’d make a kajillion dollars. People would throw their wallets at me….I’d be famous and stuff….

I learned very quickly the error in my thinking.

It meant late late nights studying all I could and practice practice PRACTICE!

I’m not the best. I’m not the worst. I am learning, and I think it’s pretty acceptable to camp out there for awhile….maybe the rest of my life. For when I have reached perfection, what more is there to do?

Dana’s Photography Facebook fanpage (Feel free to LIKE me!  I’d be honored!  And a little giddy….I might do a little dance of joy!)

Dana’s website:  Dana’s Photography (Click on that a few times so my ratings will go up!  LOL  Wait…..does that work?)

