Tags

, ,

Can I share something totally odd?

I’m sure I am a total freak…

…but sometimes, I forget these are not my kids.

Let me explain:  when you foster, especially when you foster 3 (or more) children, you get so busy and wrapped up in the day to day schedules, meeting all the needs of everyone, cooking, cleaning, snuggling, reading bed time stories, and kissing little boo-boos, that you totally forget you are fostering.

That’s probably a dangerous thing to say.  But my heart is totally smitten with these children.

It’s only when little reminders come that you remember:

these are not my children.

One reminder came over the weekend when I was trying to fill out hospital information for Little Man’s surgery on Thursday.  They ask all kinds of information about him:  was he pre-/full/post-term at birth, how much did he weigh at birth, has he had any surgeries before, what illnesses has he had, is there any history in the family of problems with anesthesia, etc etc.

I just stared blankly at the screen….I should know these questions.  Why don’t I know these?

…..wait.  Oh yeah….

these are not my children.

It actually brought tears to my eyes.  The one person that would know all of these things is gone.  She gave them up and she has disappeared.  It made me sad for Little Man….and Princess Tiana, and Baby Boy….the person that knows their history, the person that was supposed to love them most….is gone.  They have no mother and that broke my heart.

I don’t know what plans God has in store for us, or for these beautiful babies that are growing on my heart every day.  I have to trust that God is with us every day, and I know that He loves these babies even more than I do.

And who knows…..they may not be my children now

….but they may be my children later.

Proverbs 31:8,9
“Speak up for those who cannot speak for themselves,
for the rights of all who are destitute.
Speak up and judge fairly;
defend the rights of the poor and needy.”

DSC_3765 web2

**Face of Princess Tiana has been blurred out for protection.**

