Sitting in a somewhat quiet house now….clutter on the top of the desk, abandoned children’s clothes on the floor at my feet. 

Therefore, my brothers, whom I love and long for, my joy and crown, stand firm thus in the Lord, my beloved.

48 Easter eggs filled with chocolates, waiting for children to not be sick anymore.  Waiting for fevers to break, strep to clear up, and crankiness to subside.  48 brightly colored eggs waiting to be “hidden” for eager children with pastel baskets to enthusiastically pluck them from their hiding places before they race off to find another treasure. 

I entreat Euodia and I entreat Syntyche to agree in the Lord.  Yes, I ask you also, true companion, help these women, who have labored side by side with me in the gospel together with Clement and the rest of my fellow workers, whose names are in the book of life.

Then within a span of 15 minutes, clothes thrown in the dryer, clothes thrown in the washer, another pile sorted to continue the cycle…..37 of those eggs were quickly opened and devoured by 2 small children.  Those same eggs that were painstakingly filled just 2 days ago.  48 eggs designed to be hunted by 3 children when they were all well again…….now wasted and empty.

Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, rejoice.  Let your reasonableness be known to everyone. The Lord is at hand;   do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.

“Lord, I don’t think I can handle this today.  I’m so tired.  Their baskets weren’t filled to begin with, the candy was just the cheap stuff, but it’s all I had!  It’s just one more thing…..it’s just one more mess to clean up.  It’s too much.  Lord, I can’t do this.”

1 daughter sent to bed early.  One, for doing it, and two, for lying about it.  And 1 son put in the shower to clean the layer of chocolate off of his face and down his arms.  They must have seriously shoveled fast. 

And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Dana, you can do this. 

Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.  What you have learned and received and heard and seen in me—practice these things, and the God of peace will be with you.

Dana, you CAN do this.  Look how far you’ve come.  Look how far the Littles have come.  It’s one setback.  It’s an old habit, one you just talked about with Princess Tiana.  Remember?  As you were cooking dinner with her?  You talked about her mom and her old life, and you asked her what her mommy cooked for dinner.  Remember that sad face as she looked at  you?  Remember her answer?  Nothing. Nothing.  Remember where she said her brother ate from?  The trashcan.  The trashcan.  They weren’t hungry.  They weren’t starved.  They went back to an old habit…..stealing food where they could find it.  In this case, it was Easter candy.  They didn’t have to steal their dinner or scavenge the trashcan.  They waited patiently until you brought them their plate.  They didn’t even have to get it themselves.  YOU brought it to them.  And you topped it off with fresh fruit for dessert. 

You can do this.  I will make it possible.  Don’t be afraid.

I rejoiced in the Lord greatly that now at length you have revived your concern for me. You were indeed concerned for me, but you had no opportunity.  Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content.  I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need.

I can do this.  Even on the days I can’t seem to place one foot in front of the other, or remember to change the laundry out of the washer before it gets the moldy smell……or shave my legs.  I can do this.

I can do all things through him who strengthens me.

DSC_7004 web

All verses taken out of Philippians 4:1-13.

