Tags

, , , , , ,

Image

Our house is pretty laid back.  We follow a pretty strict schedule as much as I can, and everyone has chores they are responsible for everyday.  We help each other, and we contribute to the running of the house.  We encourage one another and we play together.  A lot. 

So, if you are not used to a household like that, it would be difficult to acclimate. 

#7 (our newest foster child, a teenage boy) was helping me cook dinner, a nightly favorite of ours….when we do most of our heart-to-hearts….when I asked him:

Me:  So, how do you like living with us?  Have we scared you off yet?

#7:  No, I really like it {insert very large grin}

Me:  Really?  Is it better or worse than you thought it would be?

#7:  It’s a lot better.

Me:  Really??  What makes it better?

#7:  Everything.  It’s like I’ve always been here.  You’re my MOMS! 

Me:  That’s pretty cool. {trying desperately not to cry over the dinner prep}

#7:  Yeah, that’s pretty cool.

My heart is FULL.  It is desperately full.  I was so afraid to even do this.  I have 6 children already.  I am so tired already.  How do we feed one more mouth, especially a teenage boy that eats nonstop?  What if all the scary things I’d read and heard about him from his old life, are true?  He’s so FAR behind in school!  How in the world can he even catch up?  What if we can’t do this? 

Lord, please find him a family.  He deserves a GOOD family and one with fewer children.  I just can’t.  Find him another family.  Please!

He needs you.

And it’s like he’s always been here.  He is excited about school and he enjoys going.  A lot.  He is excelling in his class.  He does his chores….without being asked.  He loves on my little ones and loves to hang out with my big ones.  He is active and funny and helpful.  He reads his Bible and his devotion book.  All of the scary diagnoses I’d heard and read about?  He has none of them (per his therapist he has seen almost daily for the last 7 months).  None.  Not one.  He is a normal teenage boy who needs to be loved.

And he calls me Moms.

I don’t know what the future holds for any of us, but in this one small second of time, it’s alright.  It’s just fine.  I needn’t be afraid.  I needn’t worry.  Just follow where He leads us, and do what He says to do.  That’s it.  Nothing more.  Nothing less.  Just don’t be afraid.

Luke 12:31-33

Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and he will give you everything you need.

“So don’t be afraid, little flock. For it gives your Father great happiness to give you the Kingdom.

 “Sell your possessions and give to those in need. This will store up treasure for you in heaven! And the purses of heaven never get old or develop holes. Your treasure will be safe; no thief can steal it and no moth can destroy it.”

 

 

 

