Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I would love to say we are completely color blind.

That when we look at our children

vanillas, and chocolates, and

one we aren’t really sure what flavor he is…maybe caramel?

We are color blind.

And for the most part, it’s completely true:

the assignment of chores and responsibilities,

bedrooms and roommates,

loves and snuggles,

discipline and correction,

bedtime stories and dinner time prayers…

there is total color blindness; total fairness.

But there are times when their color becomes painfully obvious:

stares in public,

double-takes in the grocery store,

questions of “are they all yours?”

or “lord, honey, what HAVE you done to her hair?”

When Lizzie draws pictures of herself with long blonde hair and white skin, I am painfully aware of color.

We celebrate our children’s uniqueness:

Chandler’s gorgeous green eyes like their dad,

Austin’s stoic face like his dad

Brooklyn’s amazing long, wavy/curly hair

Lizzie’s beautiful milk chocolate skin and gorgeous “puffy” hair

Jaxon’s incredible big brown eyes and long eyelashes

Jeremiah’s utterly adorable dimples that he only shares with select people.

But it wouldn’t be right or fair of us as parents to say that we are always, 100% color blind.  They each have their struggles they will deal with later in life.  I’d love to think that they will each have the same opportunities because they will be given the same upbringing, but that just isn’t how the world works.

The world still sees color.

I won’t be able to shield them from what the world sees or says or how they react or think.  The world won’t know of Jeremiah’s struggles as a baby from child abuse that nearly took his life.  They won’t know of Jaxon’s compassionate heart and patience.  They won’t know of Lizzie’s beautiful, bubbly laughter and kind heart.  They won’t know these things first….they will know their color first.

I pray that the world will become color blind.

I pray that the world will see the Jesus in their hearts and lives first.….and become overwhelmingly impacted by Him…

before they see their color.

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

 Because when I look at them, I see Jesus.

I see the work Jesus did in our hearts to prepare us for His work.

I see the work Jesus did in Jeremiah just to save his life.

I see Jesus in Lizzie as she made a toothfairy that looks like her…milk chocolate with “puffy” hair.

I see the healing Jesus has done in all of their hearts.

Please, see Jesus first.  Don’t pay attention to color.  Look at their hearts.  Get to know the person behind the skin.  See the beauty before you see anything else.

And always…..be kind.

Image

 

I have entered this photo in the I Heart Faces Black and White photo challenge for April 2014.

