I had an absolutely incredible time yesterday with my honey’s cousin and her family. It’s funny how your relationship changes with people as you get older…

We floated around in the pool with the little ones all over us, and just TALKED. BIG GIRL talk….like with a REAL GROWN UP! I know….I’m finally get out more…

But she shared about her marriage and it’s trials, and about so many in Mike’s family and their marriages and I was amazed at what women (and I’m sure men too) put up with and endure! I was shocked to say the least. I’m sure I looked like a codfish with my mouth hanging open in my dumbfoundedness as she was sharing her story. Yeah, that’s nice.

But I was so SAD to realize what goes on behind closed doors and people just take it as LIFE. And I realized again how lucky I have it. I don’t ever have to worry or be afraid of my honey. He’s never raised his hand to me or given me reason to be afraid of him. He’s never had an affair and if he’s contemplated it, I don’t know about it. He’s an incredible father, and I may not like how he coaches sports ;0) but he’s a GOOD man! We may argue over stupid stuff, like who has to go down and turn off the light left on downstairs, or whether it’s my fault or his our kids are crazy, but the deep seeded hate that seems to be rampant in so many marriages simply isn’t there. We laugh A LOT and have FUN together. He’s FUNNY and has this incredible sense of humor that yes, drives me insane on occassion, but I LOVE him. Yes, after 16 years of marriage.

I think what sets him apart is that he IS a man of God, he DOES read his Bible and we are so active in church. That keeps you accountable in your marriage. He is WISE, not only in Biblical knowledge, but in human application of it and human nature! I’m sad that so many don’t see that. I know my own family discounted him for years because he’s “baptist” and that makes someone somehow “dumber”. I’ve seen churches discount him and not ever get to know him, and that has always made me angry. He isn’t some “dumb jock, karate guy”, he is a Godly man. And shame on them. But I’ve come to know that church can be politics and if you don’t keep your “dues” up to a certain candidate, you’re out. I’m so blessed to go to Eastwood NOW where that statement is false. There are true Godly men in position there…but I digress HUGELY.

I’m just lucky I got a good one. He’s good-lookin, and funny and somehow or other, he chose ME. He loves ME, and my life has been happier for it. And he does keep his socks picked up off the floor, puts the toilet seat down and even washes his HANDS, and puts the toothpaste lid back on! And even if he has to be reminded to take the trash out, or I had to find someone to mow the lawn because he didn’t cut it til we lost a child in it, I don’t live in fear of him, and that says a lot. You never know til you are floating around in a pool with toddlers crawling all over you, just what kind of a life people have behind closed doors….so now I don’t know if getting out more is a good thing or not…

