We are studying James on Wednesday nights, and as a family, we are reading through James every Friday night.  We have made so many incredible, life changing decisions, and not one of us has been left the same and as a wife and mother, I am so excited to see those changes!

BUT, we have not been free of those tough times and trials, especially as of late. 

The difference is our response to these trials and hard times!  In the past, a trial would come, I would get down and depressed, stressed and worried!  Or rotten and grumpy. ;0) 

And the other day, I had to call Mike at work with an issue that was bigger than I knew how to handle.   He was quiet on the phone for a few minutes and I’m crying, not knowing what to do, afraid of his response….and he just says quietly “Well, I don’t know what to do, but I know where to find the answer.  We’ll start our devotions again at night in Proverbs together.  I may not know the answer, but the answer is in God’s word and we’ll find it.”  And that has made all the difference!  It’s made the difference in how we tackled the problem, how we handled it with our children, and the outcome! 

And I LOVE seeing these changes in Austin as well.  Mike dropped him off at school this morning, and tucked underneath his arm….. was his Bible.   And that knowledge has made my WHOLE day!

We talked last night in Youth, that just because we are Christians, doesn’t mean we won’t have trials.  Our response needs to change to those trials.

Consider it pure joy…

I had the opportunity to talk to a friend the other day, and she was simply CONVINCED that God had left her, He had lost her, and He wasn’t coming back.  I loved being able to tell her that He hadn’t left her, hadn’t gone anywhere at all!  Through all her trials, God is sitting RIGHT there!  And in my own head, He’s holding my hand right through it!  It doesn’t mean the trial will just GO AWAY, it just means we can withstand it so much better, if we make the RIGHT decisions!  Stay in God’s word, listen for His instruction, and seek wisdom!  And if we have to sit through consequences for our bad decisions, He’ll sit through them with us.  And hopefully, if we are WISE, we will learn from them.

James 1:2-4 says, ” Dear brothers and sisters, when troubles come your way, consider it an opportunity for great joy. 3 For you know that when your faith is tested, your endurance has a chance to grow. 4 So let it grow, for when your endurance is fully developed, you will be perfect and complete, needing nothing.”

So I’m just excited to see God working in us, and in my family.  And every Friday night for the next month, we will sit down as a family and read through James.  So if you are in the neighborhood and want a place to hang out….. come on over, kick off your shoes, get comfortable, and open up that Bible!  And nightly, you’ll find Mike sitting with the boys reading through Proverbs with them before bed. 

Consider it joy my friend….

