Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I am a bit freakish. I LOVE to be scared and I HATE to be scared all at the same glorious, horrifying minute.

Now THAT’S a conundrum! But I really really do! I LOVE a good mildly scary story about ghosties and things that go bump in the night. I don’t like OUTRIGHT scary….just mildly scary.

For example: Sixth Sense=mildly scary/bordering on BIG scary, but really good!

The Ring=REALLY REALLY REALLY SCARY! Nightmares-for-MONTHS-afterward scary….still can’t think of it without getting the heebie-jeebies! BAD…BAD BAD movie. HATED it! It had POTENTIAL there for a little while, but the ending, bad. SUPER bad….are you getting the idea?

I think the difference for ME is the evil level. I don’t like outright EVIL. I even want my scary stuff to have a heart I think, like in Sixth Sense, they weren’t TRYING to scare him, they needed HELP! That makes a difference to me. The Ring, freaky chick, was just plain evil and wanted to take as many down with her as she could with no regard at all for the person.  I just can’t handle that sort of wickedness.

Another reason I LOVE Ghosthunters so much! It’s just that mildly spooky, ghostie stuff. Doesn’t hurt that Josh and Grant are kind of yummy… but I digress HUGELY!

I can’t really explain the love for the supernatural like that or why I love/hate being MILDLY scared by it.

Which brings me to the moral of my story:

I’ve been reading Mark for a little bit, and I’m fascinated by the story of the Demoniac. Funny, our Pastor (amazing Pastor Gordon) preached on it Sunday too! Which helped this blog entry take shape in my head.

Mark 5

1They went across the lake to the region of the Gerasenes. 2When Jesus got out of the boat, a man with an evil spirit came from the tombs to meet him. 3This man lived in the tombs, and no one could bind him any more, not even with a chain. 4For he had often been chained hand and foot, but he tore the chains apart and broke the irons on his feet. No one was strong enough to subdue him. 5Night and day among the tombs and in the hills he would cry out and cut himself with stones.

Please notice…he LIVES in the CEMETARY! If that is not the start of some horrible scary stories, I don’t know what IS! He couldn’t be RESTRAINED! This man was the EPITOMY of SCARY DUDE! As Gordon pointed out Sunday a point I hadn’t noticed before, he roamed NIGHT and DAY…he couldn’t REST! He had NO peace! And he was a cutter….I won’t go there this blog, but working with teenagers, this is a subject I sadly have to address sometimes.

6When he saw Jesus from a distance, he ran and fell on his knees in front of him. 7He shouted at the top of his voice, “What do you want with me, Jesus, Son of the Most High God? Swear to God that you won’t torture me!” 8For Jesus had said to him, “Come out of this man, you evil spirit!”

The demons inhabiting his body KNEW who Jesus was too.  They recognized God when they saw him.  I find that awesome….

But this is my favorite:

9Then Jesus asked him, “What is your name?”

That just gives me chill bumps….and I don’t know this to be fact, but in MY version of this verse, He is not talking to the spirits….Christ is asking for the name of the MAN.  Christ cares for the MAN underneath all that scary….He doesn’t care about the sins covering him, enslaving him, keeping him awake at night and causing him to hurt himself.  Christ cares about THAT man.

I cannot tell you my worst, most evil, dark sins….I’m sure they are not as bad or scary as the demon-possessed man, but it doesn’t matter.  They are still ugly, dark, gross sins; ones I’m ashamed of and thankfully forgiven for. 

Here’s the best part, I’ll sum up:  Christ drove ALL of those demons OUT of that man.  Gone.  No MORE!  And here is the verse I want you to dwell on and savor…..soak it in….

15When they came to Jesus, they saw the man who had been possessed by the legion of demons, sitting there, dressed and in his right mind; and they were afraid.

Oh do NOT just pass over that….he was IN HIS RIGHT MIND

That is why I just simply ADORE this God of mine!  He can take that filthy, sinful, horrid man, wash him up, dress him and change him from the inside OUT.  He was IN HIS RIGHT MIND!

I have NO doubt that anything I could possibly get myself into would be far less compared to this man, but He still washes it away.  Gone.  No more.  CLEAN.  Dressed.  And in my RIGHT mind.

I want you to ponder on that.  I’m blown away by it.  Whatever it is that’s there…..whatever haunts you at night, steals your sleep at night, causes you to be depressed and feel all alone…

He can fix it if you’ll let Him….

