Tags

, , , , ,

I had a very sweet friend of mine share this poem with me.  I do not know who wrote it, so I cannot give credit.  Well other than to say, it has a NICE message:

IF YOU WERE BUSY

If you were busy being kind, before you knew it, you would find

You’d soon forget to think twas true that someone was unkind to you.

If you were busy being glad and cheering people who were sad

Although your heart might ache a bit, You’d soon forget to notice it.

If you were busy being true To what you know you ought to do

You’d be so busy you’d forget The blunders of the folks you’ve met.

People come and go.  Friendships come and go.  And we as humans, are so quick to blame and point fingers and spread the gossip, and “did you know…..” “did you hear…..” blah blah blah  But what if we REALLY did what this poem said?  What if we actually were so busy following Christ, that we didn’t NOTICE those unkind things that people are so prone to do to each other?
*
People are MEAN to each other!  They put others down to make themselves feel better.  They complain if their food is not perfect at restaraunts.  OMG did that person JUST bump into me and not apologize?  They bring out others sins and shortcomings to distract from their own.  Did they pull out IN FRONT of me?  They took my PARKING spot!  We are jealous.  Petty.  Oh this list could go on and on and on…..and no place is immune!  I’ve experienced it in work places, in CHURCHES, at home, in families, on the internet….
*
We are HUMAN and we make mistakes, that’s a given.  I’ve hurt people, and I’ve been hurt by other people. 
*
But, I’m trying to do better.  I’m trying to follow so closely to Christ, that His glow radiates off my face.  You can’t see me for the glare off Him. 
*
Oh and I do fail, more times than I like to admit, but that’s when forgiveness comes in.  And maturity and being Christ-like.  I figure I’m a big-enough girl to admit when I do wrong, and ask forgiveness, and try to right the wrong.
AND, instead of trying to find the faults in others, and dwell on wrongs done to ME, I’m trying to concentrate on still being KIND.  I don’t have to spread the gossip.  I don’t have to share the “did you knows” or the “have you heards”.  

If I am concentrating more on the “what I can dos” or the “how can I helps”, then what others DO to me, won’t matter at all.  And afterall, isn’t that better anyway? 

Philippians 4:8:9 (The Message)

Summing it all up, friends, I’d say you’ll do best by filling your minds and meditating on things true, noble, reputable, authentic, compelling, gracious—the best, not the worst; the beautiful, not the ugly; things to praise, not things to curse. Put into practice what you learned from me, what you heard and saw and realized. Do that, and God, who makes everything work together, will work you into his most excellent harmonies.
*
Let’s look at things differently…..be positive.  Be loving.  Be kind when we don’t want to.  Share Christ instead of gossip.  Ignore someone’s unkind remark.  Go out of our way to BLESS someone, instead of making their day a little worse. 
*
And above all else, make sure to follow Christ so people don’t see YOU for the glare of Him on your face.
 
 
 
 
 

 

