snyder-girls-137

Oh that terrible high road…the road I sometimes just do NOT want to take.  It’s just so…..HIGH. 

There are times I just don’t want to take it.  Times I WANT to sit and fester and stew and stomp and act JUST as rotten as other people do.  I want to stir the pot.  I want to poke fun.  I want to stick out my tongue and yell nannie nannie.   Other people get to, why can’t I?  Other people get to be mean and hateful and outright lie….why can’t I?  Why can’t I make them hurt like they’ve made me hurt?

Sometimes I just want to be juvenile….Jr High school…..immature.

Oh yes….I’m not always nice.  I’m not always a grown up and I do not always make the right decision.  And having kids, brings it out I guess. 

Austin’s been having a difficult time for the last 3 years with his bus driver.  She openly just does NOT like him.  I could tell you tales of this woman that would make you want to stomp your feet and pull some hair….but I won’t….that whole HIGH road thing….

But it’s been clear for 3 years now that she just simply does not like him.  And for 3 years now, Austin has been picking right back at her because of it.  Obviously hasn’t been working for him either.  So, Mike and I have been praying with him to try and find a solution to our bus-riding dilemma…and we shipped him up that high road….

Every morning, he is to say “Good morning, Mrs Debby” and every afternoon he is to say “Good afternoon Mrs Debby”.  And he was instructed to bite his tongue OFF if he is even remotely tempted to say anything else.  Who knows if he’s been doing it…but he hasn’t been in trouble lately, so who knows.  We can only instruct.

And women can be a lot like that mean ol’ bus driver:  mean and hateful and outright LOOKING to cause problems.  Those of you who work with women KNOW this secret to which I speak of. 😉  Anyone living in a home full of females, goes to school with other females, or gathers together in any sort of way with other females, knows this little secret too.  Some people are just NOT happy people.  Some people just live a life so miserable, they have to make everything around them miserable.  Transfer the feelings in a way, and dealing with women like that is NOT easy.  And taking that high road just is not a journey you want to make.   Oh no….you want to stand and fight back.

Oh yes….I don’t think I’m telling a big secret or anything….I think it’s something we’ve all experienced.  🙂  Not fun, but we’ve all been there.  And I’m one that has to make a concerted effort to stop, re-evaluate, and ignore.  I’m a pretty big girl, I think I can handle a little truth here.  I have to make that effort sometimes. 

But I have to remember that I am being watched.  I have children who watch me constantly.  I have people all around me at any given time, watching to see if I fail. 

2 Corinthians 6 says “…don’t frustrate God’s work by showing up late, throwing a question mark over everything we’re doing. Our work as God’s servants gets validated—or not—in the details. People are watching us as we stay at our post, alertly, unswervingly . . . in hard times, tough times, bad times”….”and when God’s showing his power; when we’re doing our best setting things right; when we’re praised, and when we’re blamed; slandered, and honored; true to our word, though distrusted; ignored by the world, but recognized by God…”

That’s why I have to make that effort to take the high road.  That’s why I have to always ask myself:  was I at fault?  Did I say anything?  Was I ugly?  etc etc  It’s a lesson I was taught growing up by my Mom, a lesson I teach my kids and a lesson I have to be reminded myself sometimes.

Colossians 3:12 (New International Version)

 

 Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience.

So at Christmas time, I’ll find a box of chocolates for Mrs Debby, and Austin will give it to her.  He will continue on as he has been doing “Good morning Mrs Debby”  “Good afternoon Mrs Debby” because our work as Christians is in the details….our kindness shown when not deserved….our gentleness when someone is particularly harsh with us…

And if someone calls me a big fat purple cow, I will do my very best to curb my tongue.  Someone lies about me to other people?  I will do my very best to control myself.   But I am not perfect, I will be forthright with that.  I just ask that fellow Christians gently remind me….

to take that Higher road….

snyder-girls-141

