Tags

, , , , , , ,

I cannot stand to watch the news.

Everyday there are tales of horrible things people have done to each other: murder, abuse, theft, hate, hate, and more hate!

Certain parts of towns you can’t go in, like for example: we had planned a trip to Atlanta to see my sweet family there and my Aunt said to make SURE I check the hotel with HER FIRST before I book it. “There are too many parts of town you don’t want to be in with your family.”

Can’t let your kids play outside anymore like you used to. They can’t stay the night at a friends’ house til you check them out first (NOT that I’ve done that or anything 😉 ). Oh and I won’t even get STARTED on SCHOOLS now! Oh my….I’m so blessed our kids have a GREAT town to play in and a great school they are ‘safe’ in.

The longer and longer I’m alive (ONLY 28 years and don’t listen to anyone who tells you differently 😉 ), the more God has been shoved OUT of everything. No praying in school. No prayers before ball games. Can’t swear on the Bible in certain places because that’s been taken away. And GOD FORBID if someone wishes you a MERRY CHRISTMAS! You may OFFEND them. And DO NOT purchase and decorate :::GASP::: a CHRISTMAS tree, you may get your house set on fire!

Yes, I could go on and on….I really did have this all beautifully thought out, and then I woke up feeling like warmed up mashed tatatas this morning….so just give me a little grace today if I chase rabbits….

I’ve been studying 1 Samuel this week and I caught some striking similarities between the Isrealites of THEN and our world today. Really! OK, I’ll stop til you’re done laughing…..or maybe you have seen them too….let’s hope for the latter…

The Israelites have been delivered from the Philistines, saw the ark returned to their land, and enjoyed peace in the land all due to the great leadership of judge and prophet, Samuel. The Israelites trusted him because he was COMPETENT, had GOOD MORAL CHARACTER, and he was a good ORATOR, he knew how to talk to and connect to the people.

Then Samuel grew old and tired and wanted to retire to Florida where he could fish all day and hang out in his bermudas and wear weird hats.

Maybe not, EXACTLY Florida…. but his sons were assigned as judges over the Israelites. But they weren’t good at their job: they were the Israelite version of the Mafia. OK, again not exactly, but they were AWFUL men who did NOT walk in the ways of their father, Samuel. (curious…I wonder why….was he an absent father during the influental times of their growing up years? I can’t imagine how they did NOT walk in their father’s way…) They took bribes and perverted justice.

:::COUGH COUGH::: not that we have ANY of those problems now huh?

So the Israelites grumbled and complained and demanded a KING! “Give us a KING to judge us!”

And here is where the parallel begins: the Lord heard their cries and saw how they had rejected HIM. They didn’t WANT good Godly councel, they wanted a KING! They knew PEACE and comfort and PROVISION from God, but they rejected it more times than I can count, worshipped other gods, and demanded a king in human form.

Do you think, by chance, we have rejected CHRIST today? Just a little bit? We’ve danced on Him, we’ve spit on Him, and we’ve shoved Him out of every possible thing we could. And look where we are today? Look how we are FLOURISHING today! Oh…that’s right….we’re NOT.

And the people are CRYING out for a KING! For a savior to step in and save us from the mess we have gotten ourselves into! Sadly, they are not looking for the One that can actually DO it….they are looking for the one that can give them change.

God gave them Saul.

And do you know the people were warned AHEAD of time what kind of a king Saul would be?

1 Samuel 8:10-18 (The Message)

10-18 So Samuel told them, delivered God’s warning to the people who were asking him to give them a king. He said, “This is the way the kind of king you’re talking about operates. He’ll take your sons and make soldiers of them—chariotry, cavalry, infantry, regimented in battalions and squadrons. He’ll put some to forced labor on his farms, plowing and harvesting, and others to making either weapons of war or chariots in which he can ride in luxury. He’ll put your daughters to work as beauticians and waitresses and cooks. He’ll conscript your best fields, vineyards, and orchards and hand them over to his special friends. He’ll tax your harvests and vintage to support his extensive bureaucracy. Your prize workers and best animals he’ll take for his own use. He’ll lay a tax on your flocks and you’ll end up no better than slaves. The day will come when you will cry in desperation because of this king you so much want for yourselves. But don’t expect God to answer.”

And yet, they cried out for Saul anyway….Nice.

I am not so presumptious to believe that Saul is Barak Obama. I don’t know Obama. Would I have picked him? No, and I didn’t. Do I think McCain would be the one to save us all? Ahem….no.

I am saying, that the OUTCRY for CHANGE was so prevelant that it is EASY to see, the people are crying out for someone to SAVE them! They are DESPERATE! They are hurting, they are angry, and they are confused. That just RIPS at my heart.

They are BLIND.

The only One that can save any of us, we have pushed aside. We’ve taken His name off. And we look for everything around us to satisfy us. We’ve burned His book and we’ve rejected Him.

Do I think president-elect Obama will deliver us? Not a chance. Oh I do think he will try to the best of his ability, but it won’t be nearly enough. I will pray for him, and give him all the respect in the world a man of his position deserves. I certainly wouldn’t want his job. And I do really hope he can help. We really need it.

But until we STOP forcing Christ, the ONLY One that actually fix our sitation, out of everything, and turn and LISTEN to what He tells us, we have no chance. We’ll sit here and die miserable. And we’ll sit in eternity miserable.

Wow…what a downer. But if I can help even ONE person find the Way to salvation, I’ve done my job Christ instructed me to do. Whether or not I’m funny. Which, for the record…I’m hilarious. 😉

Happy Friday! And pray for our leaders, they certainly need it. All of them.

october-08-036web

