Tags

, , , ,

Today’s Thankful Thursday is BEAUTIFUL! I love this one! We are sharing God’s word that is precious to us! And I think I have a few, but they all are around the same lines.

And it’s a little hard for me to actually talk about or write about, but it’s HONEST.

I have very low self-esteem. My teeth are crooked. I’m overweight (a lot). And I’m getting older, which means I’m starting to get those lovely lines and wrinkles around my eyes. Doesn’t help that I’m having a birthday Sunday either. SOB SOB!!

I’ve never just FELT pretty or attractive to anyone and that’s something that I’ve struggled with my whole life. But, the dear Lord, in all of His sweetness, gave me verses to help me. And working with teenage girls, I’ve been able to pass these verses to A LOT of young ladies as well.

One of my ALL time passages is Isaiah 43:

“Do not be afraid, for I have ransomed you.
I have called you by name; you are mine.
When you go through deep waters,
I will be with you.
When you go through rivers of difficulty,
you will not drown.
When you walk through the fire of oppression,
you will not be burned up;
the flames will not consume you.
For I am the Lord, your God,
the Holy One of Israel, your Savior.

…..because you are precious to me.
You are honored, and I love you.

I am PRECIOUS to Him!   He actually SAID the words I love you [Dana]!

Psalm 45:11

For your royal husband delights in your beauty;
honor him, for he is your lord.

But the very best reminder to me of what is of the UPMOST importance to God, above all else:

Proverbs 31:30

Charm is deceptive, and beauty does not last;
but a woman who fears the Lord will be greatly praised.

1 Peter 3:3-4:

Don’t be concerned about the outward beauty of fancy hairstyles, expensive jewelry, or beautiful clothes.  You should clothe yourselves instead with the beauty that comes from within, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is so precious to God.

What my outward appearance looks like, crooked teeth, chubby cheeks, laugh lines….matters NOT to God.  I am precious to Him and He loves me!  I’m not so sure how QUIET my spirit is, as all who know me in life can attest, but I love the Lord with all of my heart.  I trust Him.  And I would NEVER use the word GENTLE to describe myself, but I praise God!  I have a healthy fear of the Lord!  He is my mighty God who teaches me all things!

So as I age not so gracefully and those laugh-lines appear around my eyes, or you see my less than perfect teeth when I smile, or my rounder shape, I know that the Lord, HE is good.  I will be content.  I will continue to laugh and make more lines and show my imperfect smile.  And no dentist, or personal trainer, or plastic surgeon can give me the kind of JOY that I have in my Heavenly Father.   And He takes great delight in me, He will quiet me with His love, and He rejoices over me with singing (Zeph. 3:17)….

How can I not feel beautiful when He tells me that….

So go laugh….go smile and show those pearly whites….and remember, even if NO ONE ELSE ON THIS PLANET tells you how beautiful you are, remember….Christ thinks you are PRECIOUS!

Head over to Iris’ Thankful Thursday and find some more PRECIOUS words of God!

dsc_0073-copy

