Tags

, ,

When God speaks by the Holy Spirit, He often reveals something about Himself. Taken from Experiencing God.

As far back as I can remember doing this blog, my first post back in June or July of 2008, I’ve said I thought God was calling me to something. I didn’t know what at the time, but I thought it had something to do with missions. As far back as that first post, I’ve said I didn’t how God would do that because I have a job, and I have to pay my bills. I don’t mind doing whatever You want, Lord, but I have this family here that likes to eat….likes to sleep in a bed….likes to wear clothes….so I’ll do whatever You want, but You better supply the way….

And today I got it. I didn’t trust God to take care of me, supply my needs, or provide.

From today’s lesson of Experiencing God:

God speaks when He wants to involve a person in His work. He reveals His character to help the person respond in faith. The person can better obey God’s instructions when he believes God is who He says He is and when he believes God can do what He says He will do.

Yeah, and I still didn’t get it from that! LOL I’ve always said, Talk to me like I’m 4 and I’ll get it.

God reveals Himself to INCREASE FAITH that leads to action. Listen attentively to what God reveals to you about Himself. What He shows you will be critical when you come to a crisis of belief [the place I come to when I have to decide to act on what God is showing me He wants me to do].

It’s happened twice now, once last week with my roof, and again yesterday with the phone call in the middle of my prayer. God is revealing Himself to me as my Provider. He is trying to show me that if He calls me to do it, He will provide the ways and the means for it to happen.

He is trying to get me to understand this fact. When I understand this, I will be better able to step out in faith and trust that He is who He says He is, and He will do what He says He will do.

So, by Him revealing this to me, I am hearing from God, which means, I am where He wants me to be, and I am BEARING FRUIT!

I feel a little apple there…maybe a little mango over there! 😀 If you could see the stupid smile on my face right now and the little wiggle in my seat….oh you’d be laughin’, but only laughin’ WITH me, cuz I’m EXCITED!

The need for a DAILY, intimate relationship is VITAL! I’d like to say I’ve always been this close to God, I’ve always read my Bible everyday, and my prayer life can part the chicken soup in your bowl, but I’d be a liar. I’m only just in the last year figured out the DAILY walk is what gets you there. Otherwise, I get the constant battle of trying to do it myself, the HARDER way because I’m too stubborn to make the effort to build that relationship! I was still a Christian, still loved God, but on MY terms, when I wanted to, and HOW I wanted to. Yes, God still speaks, but it’s usually with a smack to the head to get you to wake up and do it HIS way! “I’m HERE! I’m pursuing you…wish you’d jump on board! Look, dummy, I love you!” He was patient with me, and He was faithful! It’s been a long, slow process, but I had to come to the realization that it’s a DAILY relationship, not whenever I wanted to spare the time. So, a few years ago, He laid missions on my heart. Then nothing else for awhile. I had to come to the realization that I had to pursue HIM as hard as He was pursuing ME. And now, He is revealing Himself to me! HE IS MY PROVIDER! If He calls me to do it, He will equip me to do it!

So there ya go….my BIG AHA moment today.

cropped-may-121.jpg

