I do not like to cook. I do not enjoy it. But since the other people occupying this house that call me “MOM” or “HONEY” keep insisting on wanting FOOD, I have to make it. Grr.

I am not imaginative, I do not follow recipes well because there is too much STUFF that goes in them, and most things that usually come out of my kitchen is either from a can or a box. No lie, ask my extended family who joke about “Dana bringing a box for Thanksgiving….”. I wish I were joking. It just requires too much time/money/energy to REALLY cook.

Actually, if I could eat all my meals OUT….I would. ;) Truth be told.

But, when Heidi started her Iron chef-blogstyle, I thought (this month) I’d give it an honest try. I can’t do them every month, but I’ll try it THIS month.

And I went to the store and bought all the ingredients that I did not already currently have.

dsc_0293

I even had to google “shallots” to find out what they were. Yeah, and then I got to WalMart and couldn’t find a shallot to save my life. I had to ask the veggie boy the ever embarrassing “If-I-were-a-shallot-where-would-I-live?” question. That’s love and devotion to my friend, Heidi .

This is what I did with the leftover shallot ‘mush’….I think it’s technically called minced, but I’m not a minced sort of cook, I’m a ‘mush’ kind of cook….

dsc_0736

I put them in a freezer baggie, squeezed out all the air, and then froze them for a later use.

So, recipe #1 that I chose to make was:

CHICKEN FETTUCCINI CARBONARA:

dsc_0295

The noodles were al dente and I am not a fan of al dente, so next time, I will definitely let them cook a minute longer (MY COOKING mistake, NOT recipe mistake, let me make that clear).

Austin LOVED this because it has bacon in it. He is a fan of all things BACON. This was his FAVORITE recipe.

Chandler hated it altogether. Not a bit surprising, he hates everything that does not come out of a cereal box.

Brooklyn also refused to touch it because the noodles were straight not “COOR-LY”. She may have tried it if I had bought curly noodles.

Mike ate it. He eats everything, so who knows. He did not go for seconds so either it is very filling, or he didn’t like it. I have no idea.

I did like it! I LOVED the bacon in it! And I liked the basil in it! I don’t think I’ve ever cooked with basil before, but I think I’m a fan! GO BASIL!

The next recipe I tried was:

Chicken Georgia (that I mistakenly called Georgia Chicken the entire time):

dsc_0743

The kid-cut-up version on an OH-SO-ADORABLE Princess plate

dsc_0737

Please pardon the pictures, I should have lightened them, but I’m lazy today. And I just want to say, I did not add the cheese to the top of any of them, my Assistant Chef, 3 year old, Brooklyn added all the cheese. She kept insisting “I’m not DONE yet!” She wasn’t screaming so I went with it. Here….have some more calcium…..

Brooklyn ATE it! If you didn’t catch that….SHE *ATE* it! And because I was SO SHOCKED at seeing this, I took her picture EATING IT!

dsc_0741

Chandler *ATE IT TOO*!!! This realization almost sent me over into the land of insanity. I still cannot get over it! He didn’t complain, didn’t say a WORD, just ate it!

Austin, REALLY liked it, it would have been the winner had it had bacon in it. ;) His favorite was the sauted mushrooms.

Mike didn’t say anything, he just ate it. Much like MOST things I put in front of him, he doesn’t ask questions or comment, he just devours it. I am guessing that his favorite was the mushrooms as well because he went to the leftovers and picked out EVERY mushroom and ate it.

I LOVED it! It was my favorite! The combination of mushrooms and shallots sauted on the top was incredible! Really yummy! I will make use of the frozen shallots in my freezer. I will say, I did use the entire container of mushrooms because we all like them, and I sauted them sliced. I’m not sure how they were supposed to be, but mine were sliced.

The last recipe I tried was:

Crispy Chicken

dsc_0744

Again, on an UTTERLY-ADORABLE Princess plate. :)

Brooklyn ATE IT! If it did not take so much time to MAKE them, I would have taken a picture of her eating this one too. LOL She didn’t like the “wet” ones though….and I couldn’t figure out what she meant by “wet ones” til I flipped it over and saw a couple spots of grease from the butter on the bottom. LOL Easily rectified with a papertowel. ;) She did like all the ones that were NOT wet on the bottom.

Chandler ate this as well! I wasn’t all that surprised because he will consent to eat nuggets every once in a while. They were mild enough and UNSUSPICIOUS-LOOKING to make them acceptable in his eyes. I will say, I did do 4 drumsticks in this recipe because I figured he may eat those, and oh yes, every one. I had ZERO leftovers of this recipe!

Austin really liked it! He would have liked it better with…..wait for it…..betcha can’t guess…….BACON. {sigh}

Mike ate it. Then proceeded to eat all the leftovers that the boys did not inhale.

I really liked it, I added basil to the recipe because frankly, I bought basil and wanted to use it more than one time. ;) I know, I’m sad. I don’t care. I wish I had added more spices. The only downside: VERY TIME CONSUMING! She even says so in the recipe. They are very good, but I just don’t have time for all that mess. How’s that for honesty?

So there ya have it! I hope I can do even more challenges because it is forcing me to get out of my RUT, I call cooking. Grrr. So thank you, Heidi for making me cook. Which I hate. Wait….why am I doing this again? Oh yes….heathens want to eat EVERY DAY. Bummer.

But you did get 3 new recipes out of the deal….

