Tags

,

1 Samuel 20:17
And Jonathan made David reaffirm his vow of friendship again, for Jonathan loved David as he loved himself.

Job 2:11
When three of Job’s friends heard of the tragedy he had suffered, they got together and traveled from their homes to comfort and console him.

Proverbs 27:9
The heartfelt counsel of a friend is as sweet as perfume and incense.

We taught on David and Jonathon in Sunday School this past Sunday ( I know, I used to be able to get these done the night before….), and my thoughts this week have often gone to friendship and what that means.

David and Jonathon had an instant attraction.

Oh don’t go all weird-o on me, they had that instant connection: things in common, laughed at the same jokes, enjoyed the same things, you know how it is when you meet someone and you just hit it off right away. Some friends we meet and it’s slow growing. Some are just quick. For me, it’s usually their sense of humor, I like a great sense of humor.

But that got me thinking of my little circle of friends.

I have a lot of friends.

I have very very few close friends. I can count maybe 3-4 and my Mom and my Husband are 2 of them. I have very few close friends.

David had a lot riding on his friendship with Jonathon, it literally meant his life. David had to trust Jonathon with his very life. And Jonathon did not betray that.

David had little to offer to Jonathon. It wasn’t a friendship based on what you can do for each other….David was a shepherd, turned harp player for the King. He had nothing: no position, no title, no money, no land.

Jonathon, as a token of his friendship, gave David his robe. Yeah, no big deal, huh? He’ll just run to Target and get him another one…..

Yeah….no….it represented his TITLE. It represented his position as the next king, and Jonathon recognized that David was a great man and knew he would be king and not himself. They even had a deal that David would be king and Jonathon would be the head of David’s army.

How many friends would give everything up for someone else? Maybe in little things….but what about big things?

Jonathon was there for David. He was a comfort to him. They parted ways in the end, and never saw each other again, but their bond was unbreakable. Even after Jonathon’s death, David sought Jonathon’s descendants and took care of him.

The whole lesson just made me take a look at my friendships…how willing am I to go the extra mile for them….give up something for one of them….how much time do I spend with them? How often do I make sure I am building them up instead of just wasting time in useless conversations about nothing?

It just makes you think…

October 08 144 copy

