Tags

, , ,

Heidi asked me if I’d be a judge this month for her recipe carnival Iron Chef-blogstyle.

And, because I’m a horrible cook, and I desperately need help in the creativity-in-the-kitchen department, I said, YES!

The FIRST recipe we tried was:

Basil and Thyme potatoes from Jill @ Sneaky Momma

And this time because I’m nice, I’ll put the recipe here:

1 1/2 to 2 lbs potatoes, cut into small (about 1″) pieces
2 tbsp chopped fresh or 2 tsp dried basil leaves
1 tbsp chopped fresh or 1/2 tsp dried thyme leaves
3 tablespoons olive oil
1 teaspoon garlic salt

1. Heat oven to 375°.

2. Place potatoes in ungreased pan. Mix remaining ingredients; sprinkle over potatoes.

3. Cover and bake 30 minutes. Turn potatoes. Drizzle with more olive oil, if desired. Bake uncovered 20 to 30 minutes longer.

Gather your ingredients:

DSC_2473

Or most of them at least. Hire a trusty assistant for the price of a bowl of ice cream to wash the potatoes:

DSC_2475

Ignore the amount of water all over the counters. Pay one of the Potato Washer’s siblings a $1 to mop up the floor…

Dice the potatoes. I hate dicing anything…I’ll just tell you right now…I hate dicing ANYTHING. And peeling…well, peeling is loathed far more than dicing…so nothing was peeled.

I had my trusty Potato Washer add the olive oil:

DSC_2480

Then the basil, garlic powder (I didn’t have garlic salt)…..

DSC_2481

….umm…it appears, the Potato Washer has gone t0pless…probably all that water from washing potatoes….

and thyme.

DSC_2482

I never could understand that whiner from the 70s who always sang about his wish of saving thyme in a bottle….seriously? Honey, check out WalMart…they have it all…

Yes, that was lame, it doesn’t get much better than this though.

After it’s all added, have the Potato Washer stir together. (and put her shirt back on….geez, what kind of establishment IS this??)

DSC_2484

And pour over the cursed diced potatoes waiting patiently in the baking dish.

(I really hate dicing…)

DSC_2486

Stir it all together to make sure all the potatoes are covered with the mix. They should resemble something like this: (I hope)

DSC_2489

Then pop those bad boys in the oven for 30 minutes. Turn the potatoes and drizzle with more olive oil if you’d like (I did, after running to WalMart for more and paying 5 bucks for a tiny bottle of it, I was jolly SURE gonna drizzle more on there. I’m cheap, me thinks. 😉 ) and bake for 20-30 more minutes.

Look at how yummy those look in there….I’m salivating I think….WOW, I need to clean my oven! And buy more baking sheets. That’s ATROCIOUS! But I digress…just look at the food…

DSC_2490

And paired with some Shake N Bake chicken that was so juicy, and steamed broccoli, cauliflower and carrots….YUMMMM!

DSC_2492

In the beginning when I saw they have to cook for a flippin HOUR, I was really REALLY seriously put off by this recipe. I’ll just tell you up front. I do NOT have time for all that mess. But because I promised Heidi I’d do this right, I soldiered on.

And this is what I discovered. The first 30 minutes baking in the oven allowed me to prepare the chicken for baking. By the time I had that all ready to go in, it was time to turn the potatoes, and the chicken had to cook for 20 minutes, so it worked out PERFECTLY! So the cook time was really nothing.

When I do them again because it’s already been asked of me, I think I’ll add some chopped onion. I just REALLY think that would be uber YUMM-O, so I’ll try it.

And because I’m a judge, I cannot tell how the recipe ranks. I will only divulge that it was GOOD and I will make it again.

So easy, a 3 year old can do it!

Next up, Baked Potato soup. Already made it, just need to find the time to blog it…..

