Tags

, , , , ,

Heidi has this amazing blog carnival where she asks you to post recipes, then she randomly picks 3 recipes, asks everyone to try them, and then vote on their favorite.

This, I believe, is her sneaky way of having us get off our butts and cook. And for people like ME who are cuisinely-challenged (yes, it’s a made up word….I do that because I know it bugs Heidi. ;) ), I get a few new recipes out of it. The joke has always been in my family:

(say it with me, Snyders’)

If it doesn’t come out of a box or can, it doesn’t come out of Dana’s kitchen.

Sad, yes. Don’t hate.

So the next recipe I tried (scroll back a couple of posts for the first one) is:

Easy Baked Potato Soup by Katie @ A List Maker’s Life (I dig list making by the way. I’m kind of anal about them.)

3 to 4 medium baking potatoes, baked
5 bacon strips, diced
2 cans (10-3/4 ounces each) condensed cream of potato soup, undiluted
1 can (10-3/4 ounces) condensed cheddar cheese soup, undiluted
3-1/2 cups milk
2 teaspoons garlic powder
2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce
1/2 teaspoon onion powder
1/4 teaspoon pepper
Dash Liquid Smoke, optional
1 cup (8 ounces) sour cream
Shredded cheddar cheese

Hire the talents of the Potato Washer again, this time with a red “Sushie” (or SLUSHIE).

DSC_1646

And I realize now, after posting all these pictures…I am in SERIOUS need of having another Bridal shower. Bridal showers are wasted on new brides, they don’t cook anyway! They eat out! Bridal showers need to be for the BRIDE who’s been married more than 10-15 YEARS when all our pretty, shiny cooking stuff has all gone to CRAP! Seriously! I’ve been married 17 years, my cooking stuff should just be thrown in the trash! Not even garage sale worthy….just TRASH it all and start new….but who has the money for that? I can’t even finish stripping the wallpaper off my kitchen walls so we can finish painting…nice huh? Heidi has her RAW, this is Dana’s RAW….don’t hate.

Take your frustrations out on DICING those blasted potatoes! You’re supposed to PEEL them, but I don’t roll like that….I just cut ‘em and tell the kids to quit whinin’ and be thankful it’s not Hamburger Helper. ;)

DSC_1648

This portion of the recipe, I am copying from sweet Katie’s blog because I didn’t do this part right….I don’t have a Dutch oven. I only know what it is from a recent Pioneer Woman’s post. Sad, huh? I don’t have a crock pot either, you may all weep for me now….

“In a Dutch oven or soup kettle, cook the bacon over medium heat until crisp. Using a slotted spoon, remove to paper towels. Drain, reserving 1-1/2 teaspoons drippings.”

While the potatoes were boiling, I cooked the bacon. And I was insulted that she actually said 4-5 strips of bacon….come on now….don’t play with me….don’t TEASE me with bacon, if it’s in there, it’s ALL in there

DSC_1650

….smell the bacon…embrace the bacon…..LOVE the bacon…..

DSC_1649

Boring boiling potatoes….who wants to see that when you can see THIS:

DSC_1651

I heart bacon.

By this point, I may have totally screwed up this recipe, but that happens when bacon is involved. I may add bacon to every recipe now….sorry, Heidi, you can fire me if you need to….

After my potatoes are boiled and my bacon is cooked and chopped, I added the seasonings. Yes, I had to adjust my cooking method. Follow Katie’s recipe….not mine…I’m insane with bad cooking utensils…

But the finished product was this:

DSC_1652

Yes, in a cheap, plastic bowl….MAN! I just can’t win….but I did have an extra 14 year old over, and Lord knows I’m NOT using my nice glass ones with THEM! And Mike had a friend over working on his truck, and they were both greasy and gross, so no glass for them either…

The soup was good. It was a lot of tastes going on for me, though. I didn’t use the Liquid Smoke, and WalMart was out of cream of potatoes (whoever heard of such a thing anyway?). And I doubled the recipe because I had 8 to feed instead of my normal 5. It doubles well! And I had NONE left over! Not a DROP!

Can’t say anymore (other than the diarrhea of the mouth that I’ve had all post long….sorry….lack of adult stimulation I reckin….) because I’m a judge and I’ll vote later with my pick.

Next to make: POTATO SALAD.

My Mom has just fallen off her chair…..yes, I am MAKING potato salad….apparently you can MAKE it and it doesn’t all come magicly out of plastic containers from the grocery store….crazy world we live in….

And MORE *$&^$@ diced potatoes!!

