Tags

Can you take just one more? Can you take one more tv show, radio announcement, song, blog post, or memorial for Michael Jackson? Can you stand just one more news channel devoted in its entirety to a musician’s death?

Forget China and it’s unrest.

Forget North Korea and it’s firing of missiles on the Fourth of July.

Forget the Fourth of July….

All hail king Michael.

I am sick of it. Seriously sick in my heart, sick in my head, and darn near sick to my stomach over it. Everywhere I turn, people are obsessed over him.

He sang. He danced a mean little jig up there a time or two as well.

But let’s get real for a minute. He was a MAN.

I think. He was wasn’t he? I’m not even sure anymore of his ethnicity to be honest with you….they said he was black….right? So who knows.

I was only 3 when Elvis died, so I do not recall the hoopla over his death, was it the same? Was there this much WORSHIP of him???

I did turn my TV on FoxNews (yes, FOXnews, Jeff….I have a brain 😉 ) and I did end up watching maybe 20 minutes of Michael’s funeral. I was seriously flabbergasted over it. I sat there for most of that 20 min. with my mouth hanging open in utter and complete shock.

At one point, I KID YOU NOT, they had their HANDS RAISED as a Christian does in worship to God. That was it.

TV off. Done.

I do not understand this worship of a MAN. People by NATURE are flawed, even the best of the best, are not perfect.

This is my theory: people have pushed God so far away, so in order to fill the hole, they worship MAN. They go out of their way to raise someone up to place them in the hole that God created only for Himself to fill. It cannot be filled by anything else. No matter how hard they try.

Michael Jackson is NOT going to rise from the dead. Hate to break it to you. He’s not. Sorry.

Jesus Christ rose from the dead. No other man can do that.

You cannot fill that hole, that longing for something, with anything but Christ Almighty. There is nothing out there, alive or dead, past or present, male or female, that will fit. That longing you have is your soul crying out for God.

A sparkly glove ain’t gonna cut it. No matter how good they glide backwards across the stage, it’s not gonna happen. Michael Jackson cannot save your soul. I’m curious if he found the Way to save his own.

So turn the TV off. Put the newspapers away. And for the love of Peter Pan, he was JUST A MAN! Let me give you some other talent that has been seriously overlooked for years:

This one even has cute little fishies to add a visual aid for your enjoyment

HIS name was Handel! Amazing huh?

How about a little MOZART? This one won’t put you to sleep, I promise:

Oh LOOKIE! One of my FAVORITES!

Or you just want a good song to worship CHRIST with….

Put the kids in the next room and crank that bad boy UP…..WOW.

Or you need a kick in the pants to get out there and do something for someone else….here ya go:

Do you see my point?

Michael Jackson was just another man…just another man that could sing. He had a talent, not even as talented as the above artists.

He is dead. So are hundreds of people everyday. He’s been gone 2 weeks, bury the poor man already.

Move on.

2 Timothy 3

But mark this: There will be terrible times in the last days. People will be lovers of themselves, lovers of money, boastful, proud, abusive, disobedient to their parents, ungrateful, unholy, without love, unforgiving, slanderous, without self-control, brutal, not lovers of the good, treacherous, rash, conceited, lovers of pleasure rather than lovers of God— having a form of godliness but denying its power. Have nothing to do with them. They are the kind who worm their way into homes and gain control over weak-willed women, who are loaded down with sins and are swayed by all kinds of evil desires, always learning but never able to acknowledge the truth.

But as for you, continue in what you have learned and have become convinced of, because you know those from whom you learned it, and how from infancy you have known the holy Scriptures, which are able to make you wise for salvation through faith in Christ Jesus. All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, so that the man of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.

