Tags

, ,

This weeks theme is Contemplative: thoughtful, reflective, meditative.

I found this theme to be very thought-provoking…

Story behind the photo: a couple of weekends ago, we took the kids to their first Pow Wow which coincided with Cherokee National Holiday. We are proud of their heritage and wanted them to experience this beautiful custom.

Right before the Grand Entry, they presented a flag in honor of a fallen soldier that had recently passed away, who was also Cherokee Indian. This was one of the flag bearers. He stood in a row of 4 all wearing the same dress, the one next to him, with the bowed head, I believe was his son.

This man just spoke to my heart…..something about his expression of respect and honor and reverence. I’m so glad I captured it.

Click on the iHeartfaces button to see more entries!

And to go on the complete OPPOSITE end of the spectrum, as only boys can….

The Pet entry:

And yes, this would have been a PET had I succumbed to the pleas of the boys….

Also taken that same weekend while we were supposed to be inside at the family reunion. :D This is what my boys would rather be doing.

