This week’s theme is one of my FAVORITES! Obviously, I love faces….and I really really love close ups of faces!

The photo I chose was taken just last Monday. Oklahoma doesn’t see a LOT of snow, and if and when we do, it isn’t ever a soft falling one. Usually it’s preceeded by layers of ICE and lots of fast blowing snow. A gentle snow is not really common.

I actually saw a photographer I really admire do these same type of photos, not exactly the same, but the idea of a gentle snow with a high contrast blanket, the morning I decided I had to try them! And since we don’t get much snow, my time was right at that moment! So about 8:30 in the morning, I ask my ever-patient daughter if she’d like to stand IN the snow. πŸ˜€ I put the blanket in the dryer for a few minutes to keep her all toasty, and OUT we ran! She LOVED it!

I wanted the image to be crisp, but muted in color. I wanted the blanket’s nice, red color to be brighter, so when I adjusted colors, I chose to boost the blankets color up about 10%. I wanted the photo to have that timeless feel to it, to be hard to date. I am pretty pleased with the outcome! I don’t know if it’s the BEST face photo out there, but it’s one of my favorites.

For now. πŸ˜‰ Til another inspiration hits me. That’s what my photography is all about: always learning, always trying new things, and always desiring to improve what I’ve done before.

Be KIND! And always have your camera ready!

