My dearest Chandler:

I adore you.

I adore your sense of humor.

I adore your sense of adventure.

I adore your well-behaved nature when we go places.

I adore that you still love to cuddle with me on the couch at night watching Criminal Minds.

I adore that you still hug me goodnight when you go to bed, and when you leave, and sometimes, just random moments.

I adore that you are so laid back and easy-going….

MOST of the time.

But, let me help you with something. Let me clue you into something other than YOUR needs for just a second…

I worked a 13 hour day last Thursday. I worked a 13 hour day last Friday. I worked an 8 hour day on Saturday. We were at church a big chunk of Sunday….and THEN, I worked 12 hours on Monday. Worked 13 hours again on Tuesday. And oh wait….here’s Wednesday again, and we have to leave the house at 5:00 to get Austin to Youth band practice at church.

5:00 on Wednesday night is NOT the time to tell me YOU need Valentine’s day cards for the party….

THE NEXT DAY!

We don’t get home from church until roughly 9:00 on Wednesday nights after we take whoever needs a ride home FROM church. But, even so, 8:30 last night, we stopped at the store to pick up YOUR Valentine’s day cards.

Trust me when I tell you, 9:20 is NOT the time to lean over the stair railing to inform me that you don’t *LIKE* the Bakugan cards that I picked out for you. I can’t help that the average age of Valentine-card-giving is 4 and that no one has stopped to think that an 11 year old doesn’t really want Yo Gabba Gabba, Diego, Dora OR Scooby Doo cards. But, when I have roughly 14 hours til your Party and 30 minutes from MY bedtime, I’m a little limited on our choices…..and patience.

I love you. I love everything about you.

BUT SUCK IT UP AND TAKE THOSE STUPID CARDS WITH YOU TO SCHOOL!!

Sign ’em. Don’t sign ’em.

Give ’em. DON’T give ’em.

I DON’T CARE! But suck it up, and take them to school with you! If you’re embarrassed, please stop and consider that the other 20 students in your class are STILL giving Valentine’s out too, and they have about the same selection that I did.

And let’s be honest here for a second, does anyone even stop and OPEN the Valentine’s if there isn’t gum/candy/nerds/suckers/pencils attached to them ANYWAY? Unless there’s a hint at money or goodies inside that envelope, they aren’t even gonna OPEN the Valentine!

Next year, I promise I’ll do better. I will take a picture of MY BUTT and print those out with a nice little note: HAPPY VALENTINE’S DAY! KISS THIS!

Love sincerely,

Your Mom who is very tired right now. Your Mom who desperately needs a vacation. And your Mom that desperately loves you and HATES VALENTINE’S DAY NOW!

No, I may not win Mother of the Year now, but somehow, I don’t think I was nominated in the first place. πŸ˜‰

