I originally posted my Soapbox rant here: https://momof3darlings.wordpress.com/2008/12/30/soap-box/ .  But now, it’s time for another one.

:::::pulling up soap box:::::

:::::jumping up on it’s top:::::

:::::DEEP breath:::::

That’s your warning. What I’m about to say may step on toes. I may drag your shoes off your feet and stomp on them. I may dance on them a time or two as well. If I do, I sincerely apologize for hurting your feelings. However, I do not apologize if your feelings are hurt out of guilt from the Holy Spirit.

If this is irrelevent to you, carry on, dude.

Why is it so HARD to worship and PRAISE our Maker?  The God of the Universe who created our sorry behinds and gave us the breath to make it yet another minute, why is it so hard to express our gratitude?

Why is it so HARD to give up what distracts us from doing what God planned for us?  “Oh I can’t read my Bible, I have too much school work/events scheduled/work to finish, I can’t work in the Bible reading too.  And don’t ask me where I was Sunday for church.  I had a busy night Saturday.  I had to work.  My head/stomach/foot/ankle/leg/{insert body part here} hurt.  We don’t go to church.”

(Did I leave one out?  Was there an excuse in there I left out?)

I am just FED UP with excuses of WHY God takes second/third/LAST fiddle.  Too busy/too tired/too popular/whatever.

If you could see what I’ve seen.  If you could experience what I’ve experienced…..

{sigh}

I’ve taught for so long, I’ve poured out my soul, I don’t know how else to express what I’m feeling.

Frustration?  Fatigue?

Psalm 34:8

Taste and see that the LORD is good;
blessed is the man who takes refuge in him.

It’s just so much MORE than some know.  It goes so far beyond your salvation.  It’s that daily living and breathing Christ.  It’s making that sacrifice to get up EARLY and spend time in the Word and in prayer.  It’s giving up the things that take away from my focus on Christ.  I know it seems silly to most, and I’ve been called a prude more times than I know, and God didn’t SAY we couldn’t do these things…..it’s my DESIRE to do them that has changed.  Make sense?

These things are no where in the Bible forbidden or listed as NO-NOs:

God did not say we couldn’t listen to rap/rock/country music.  I don’t want to.

God did not say we couldn’t watch racy movies and tv shows.  I don’t want to.

God did not say I couldn’t go into a bar.  I don’t want to.

God didn’t even say I couldn’t have a drink of alcohol.  I don’t want to.

God did not say I couldn’t say cuss words.  I don’t want to anymore.

God did say:

Psalm 24:3-5

Who may ascend the hill of the LORD ?
Who may stand in his holy place?

He who has clean hands and a pure heart,
who does not lift up his soul to an idol
or swear by what is false.

Psalm 27:4

The one thing I ask of the Lord—
the thing I seek most—
is to live in the house of the Lord all the days of my life,
delighting in the Lord’s perfections
and meditating in his Temple.

Psalm 19:14

May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart
be pleasing in your sight,
O LORD, my Rock and my Redeemer.

I don’t DESIRE to do anything that would take my eyes and my focus off of Christ.  How can I pop in my earphones and listen to Bedrock and read my Bible?  How can I speak to God in prayer after spewing curse words at someone?

(You’re greatly impressed a Prude like me knew the song Bedrock, aren’t you.  😉  Focus now….I’m not done.)

I just WISH people would get it.  My desire and my prayer is that those around me, those I do business with, those I go to church with, or those I pass in the store will see and feel and understand the love of the Lord.

I want to see them bear FRUIT.  I want to see buds of recognizable fruit growing.  I want see lives and relationships changed.

I’m tired of looking around and seeing the same dead faces.  People sitting there, saying the words or singing the songs, or professing their faith…..and yet, they still reek of death.  Their branches are not only bare of any fruit, but it’s dead.  Dig it up, throw it away, DEAD.

COME ON!

My God is REAL and He’s loving and He’s done so much for me, I can’t sit still.   I can’t stop smiling.   I find myself telling random people what God has done for me!  (hehehe like the mortgage company or a roofer that called)  Times in service, I can’t stop crying and thanking my God for saving us!  Sometimes the emotions are just too overwhelming and I can’t breathe.

And then I look around, and I can’t understand why other people aren’t feeling it too.  Did that NOT just blow you over too?

I find myself wanting to blog simple things in the Bible that I’m reading and so excited over!  “OMGoodness, you’re NOT gonna believe what I just read!”  I’d be blogging all day long.  I’d get no work done.  HA!

Parents, TEACH your children!  Take them to church so they can learn a relationship with Christ APART from you!  They can’t get to Heaven riding YOUR coat tails!  It doesn’t work like that.

I’m just tired I guess of lazy people being content with their so-called “Fire Insurance”.  Carry on, living your Country Club Christian badge on your suit coat.   You can smile and say all the right things, but if I’m not seeing fruit, I’m calling BULL.  Live your selfish lives, leaving Christ out of MOST of it except for Christmas dinner or a prayer because your dog is dying, but I don’t want to hear you complainin’ when you’re a little too ROASTY in hell.

Oh I WENT THERE! I crossed that line….danced over it….cartwheeled over it and did a little jig on the OTHER side!

Matthew 7:18-23

“A good tree cannot produce bad fruit, nor can a bad tree produce good fruit.  Every tree that does not bear good fruit is cut down and thrown into the fire. So then, you will know them by their fruits.
Not everyone who says to Me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but he who does the will of My Father who is in heaven will enter. Many will say to Me on that day, ‘Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in Your name, and in Your name cast out demons, and in Your name perform many miracles?’ And then I will declare to them, ‘I never knew you; DEPART FROM ME, YOU WHO PRACTICE LAWLESSNESS.’

I guess I’m just done with excuses. If Christ isn’t who you thought He should be…maybe you need to look a little closer at yourself.  If you don’t know who Christ is, read your Bible and find out.  Seek Him.  Email me.  Call me.  I’ll send you a Bible if you don’t have one.  But don’t let it be too late.  He loves you.

:::::looking around:::::

:::::stepping down off soapbox:::::

:::::putting soapbox quietly away:::::

