(I was going to blog about my spelunking adventure yesterday, but I forgot my camera in the car, and Mike has my car. So my spelunking will have to wait until tomorrow. I know you’re disappointed. I feel your pain.)

Mike and I hardly ever get to get out of the house alone. We are one of those crazy couples that enjoys being our children, so if we go anywhere, we take the kids with us.

But now that they are getting older, I must confess my need to get away with just Mike! We are getting older right along with our kids, so it’s important to stay connected with each other and let’s be honest: how connected can we be with 3 kids hovering around us and monopolizing all of the conversation? I love them, but when we are all together, it’s a barrage of who can talk the most. I love it, but there’s no real time for US.

Friday night, we took the kids out for pizza and we discussed how NICE it was to get out last month for our 18th wedding anniversary without children. So I told Mike, I’d really like to start doing this once a month! Hopefully, we’ll find babysitters to help us out, but I think it’s really important for us to start doing this!

And then bright and early Saturday morning, a friend called with an entire date night planned and PAID for that they were not going to be able to use, would we be interested in using it?

{crickets chirping}

{looking around}

Are you serious? Is that a serious question or are you teasing me? YEAH! I think we’ll take it!

I mean….uh…..{trying not to sound SO desperate now}….sure….we’ll take that off your hands. We’ll make the supreme sacrifice for you. We’ll take one for the team. {shrug} I guess it’ll be fun and stuff.

{insert leaping and dancing and silent screams of joy here}

So, we went out to Charlestons for dinner and spent an exorbitant amount of money on food fit for the gods. Oh it was YUMM-MMY! We even ate by candlelight!

It was so nice to be alone and talk about grown up stuff and stuff that we normally can’t discuss with the kids around. We’ve been together almost 21 years and been married for 18, we have a lot of stuff to talk about! And some things that I had forgotten all about, but my sweet, loving husband was kind enough to remind me. HAAA! One of my favorite quotes from the evening: “We really yupped it up!” We have our own language. There was another quote I will always remember, but am much too proper to say here. πŸ˜‰ And there are few friends on this planet that I would even tell….hehehehe….

So anyway….(redirecting)

Yes, I took my camera on our date. I don’t know why I did other than no one would believe me that we had an honest-to-goodness date unless I took pictures.

Proof that I'm still not drinking Pepsi πŸ˜‰

One of the funniest things that night, one of the upcoming contests for iHeartfaces is a dessert entry. I don’t do dessert…I don’t bake them….and I’m trying to avoid eating them as well. But, if the dessert is free, and I have to have a picture of one…I guess I’ll sacrifice. πŸ˜‰ I did it all for iHeartfaces.

So I ordered the dessert:

And snapped some photos

And then I noticed something in the background of one of the photos. Did you catch that too?

My darling, patient husband waiting to eat the dessert that I was so happy to shoot pictures of. Yes, we did eat it. All of it. And we thoroughly enjoyed it! And I’ll probably use these again for an upcoming iHeartfaces entry or 2. πŸ˜‰ I just thought it was so funny to see his poor face! HAAAA! The things he must put up with. πŸ˜€

Then we drove downtown to the ballet (free tickets to see The Contemporaries). However, the ballet was set for this coming Saturday and not the 13th so we will just have to go for another Date this Saturday! YAY! So we went somewhere else instead and saw some incredible piano players!

It was a sweet night and I’m so glad we went.

We plan on continuing this Date Night every month around our anniversary date. I don’t want to lose the closeness in the chaos of everyday life. And somehow, we never ever have a lack of conversation!

Be kind and always date your spouse!

