Have you ever done something totally new? Something probably crazy and scary, that people think you are nuts for doing?

I think the older I get, the more I want to get out there and DO something. Photography for me was one of those BIG ones. It puts myself out there and that is a very scary thing to do. You run the risk of being rejected when you do that. I’ve experienced that feeling before and it’s not a good feeling.

But this was different.

I don’t really do a lot of OUTDOORS stuff. Sure, I have boys so I can throw and catch a mean football. Frogs and snakes don’t bother me, and I grew up camping and climbing trees.

But again, this was different.

I went spelunking. Cave crawling. Like…INTO a cave. Not fantastic caverns or some commercial cave, but a CAVE CAVE. Climb in. Climb down. If your flashlight goes out, you’re toast. THAT kind of cave. I don’t do that sort of thing. Ever.

Especially not with teenagers! HAA! But I gotta tell you, it was exhilarating! I didn’t think I could do it because, let’s be honest here, I’m a big girl. And I’m not so young anymore. But I pushed myself beyond my limits and I went in there! In fact, I would have gone further in had we had the time. (I had Brooklyn, so I was slow and didn’t go in with the whole group)

I’m just glad I did it. It was so hard, it was a 3 mile hike up and down a steep hill! But I did it! I didn’t say no, I didn’t let my fear get the better of me and I didn’t miss the opportunity to do something new.

Even Brooklyn did it! LOL She wasn’t thrilled with it, but she didn’t freak out either! And I didn’t want her to grow up afraid of doing things because I was. That was important to me. And she had a great time!

I went with an incredible group of young people, and some pretty awesome youth leaders. They were patient and made the trip such an amazing day for all of us! It was just a blast. I couldn’t have asked for a better experience!

To give you a little idea of what it was like inside, I took my camera. I know, that was crazy. But, I took my back-up camera because I’m not nuts, and I took a lens that I’m not at all in love with. In fact, I kinda hate it now. LOL So the pictures aren’t great, but it documented what I needed it to.

I’m telling you, it was BLACK as pitch in there! And wet and there were spots in there that I had to suck it in and squeeze through. And pray. ๐Ÿ˜‰

(This is Sarah one of the Youth that was kind enough to help me through with my camera. I heart Sarah.)

But it was BEAUTIFUL there at Devil’s Den! Look what I would have MISSED had I let my fear stop me:

I’m proud I did it. I’m glad I got to spend time with my family and my church family.

Just try something new. It doesn’t have to be CRAZY, just something you wouldn’t normally do. It builds character! And who knows what will happen!

Be kind and don’t always say no….

