I enrolled my oldest in High School.

{insert mass sobbing here}

It was one of those milestones I didn’t want to come for a long….long…….LONG time. I mean really, in my head, he’s like 8! I shouldn’t be enrolling my 8 year old in HIGH SCHOOL!

{more crazy bouts of sobbing}

But the reality is, he’s far from 8 anymore. 😦 He’s almost {choke} 15! And, there are times that I really enjoy the age he is, and then there are times I want to squish him back down to the snuggly, creative, curious little 4 year old he was. And then there are the times he acts like he’s 14 and I want to squish him into something, but it isn’t the appearance of anything human. πŸ˜‰

Can I get an AMEN from the parents of other 14 year olds?

I’m just sayin’.

So, Mike and I were enrolling him and discussing his future with the teacher and what he needs to do to ensure he has everything covered for graduation and then for college entrance, and she just made it so much LESS scary than I thought it would be.

Wait….did I just say college entrance for my 14 year old?? College prep starts early….

He was enrolled in his basics, football, of course, and then he’ll have Spanish for his foreign language. He wanted french, but let’s be honest here, what would he benefit from more on a daily basis? Spanish. What is probably half of our nation speaking? Spanish. So, kid, looks like you’re taking Spanish! Not to mention, if we do a Mission trip together as a family, where would we most likely go? Mexico or France? (No, not who needs it MORE…..) Yeah, Mexico. Not to mention, you can teach your ol’ Mom some new stuff, there buddy! πŸ˜‰ Thanks, kid!

I also sat him down with me this afternoon doing one of those mindless tasks so we could talk while we mindlessly tasked. I wanted him to understand the absolute necessity it is anymore to have a college education. It isn’t like it used to be when I was in high school! It’s so much harder now! I wanted him to know that if you work hard in the beginning, it makes life easier later. College in the beginning will make it easier for him than someone with no college education. (and I can say this with all confidence having not finished my degree)

I don’t want him to struggle his whole life. I don’t want him to be reduced to living cheaply, instead of living comfortably. If he’s not rich, I’m OK with that, I just don’t want him to struggle financially. I want him to have all the best that he can, not worrying over whether or not he pay to keep the gas on or the electric….or if I live without cable/nice clothes/phone/and ride a bike everywhere I go….I can NOT go to college and work wherever I can get a job. That’s just not what I want for him.

At this point, I got the look.

And the “I know all this, Mom.”

And then the “you know I’m only 14 right?”.

OK, I’ll stop. He got the point. And I’m just glad I could have this discussion with him. He has big plans for his future and I don’t want anything getting in the way of that. I love our school district too, they just make the road so much easier to plan this stuff! The teacher was so helpful in explaining stuff. I was secretly afraid I’d mess his enrollment up. HAAAA! But he’s a SMART kid that could go far if he’d apply himself. But if there’s an issue, I have a whole team of professionals looking out for his best interest as well, and will catch any problems in his academics, his college plans, or any other issues kids can have.

So, I guess my baby’s going to high school next year!

{insert insane bawling again}

