I could do a “My story in photos” with desserts, but it would be the ever-growing saga of my fat butt….and really, who wants to see that?

Yeah, I didn’t think so.

So instead, we have:

Banana Pudding by Brooklyn

Official recipe:

Not yo’ Mama’s Banana Pudding by Paula Deen
Ingredients

* 2 bags Pepperidge Farm Chessmen cookies
* 6 to 8 bananas, sliced
* 2 cups milk
* 1 (5-ounce) box instant French vanilla pudding
* 1 (8-ounce) package cream cheese, softened
* 1 (14-ounce) can sweetened condensed milk
* 1 (12-ounce) container frozen whipped topping thawed, or equal amount sweetened whipped cream

Directions

Line the bottom of a 13 by 9 by 2-inch dish with 1 bag of cookies and layer bananas on top.

In a bowl, combine the milk and pudding mix and blend well using a handheld electric mixer. Using another bowl, combine the cream cheese and condensed milk together and mix until smooth. Fold the whipped topping into the cream cheese mixture. Add the cream cheese mixture to the pudding mixture and stir until well blended. Pour the mixture over the cookies and bananas and cover with the remaining cookies. Refrigerate until ready to serve.

Now, let’s get real here.

I ain’t doin’ none o’ that.

You have bananas:

Ya take a box of french vanilla pudding and ya pour 2 cups of milk in like so….

You mix it with mixer wearing your hot pink princess oven mitt with the satin ruffle.

You don’t have a Princess oven mitt? Me either, but Brooklyn does, and she says you have to have one, or you can’t cook. {shrugs shoulders} Sorry!

“Then you chop up your bananas with a “budder” knife ’cause the sharp ones will CUT you.”

(WITH your princess oven mitt on, mind you…..)

Now, here is where the recipe according to Brooklyn goes awry…..you are supposed to line the bottom of the dish with COOKIES….but Miss Smarty Pants says “that’s not how you DO IT! You’re gonna mess up my pie!”

So you line the bottom of the pie with the smushed bananas and the chunks of bananas that you tried to cut smaller but again, you get the hand-smack and the “you’re messin’ it up!” Just step back and let the 4 year old do it. Trust me.

Oh you think, I’m kidding?

Don’t serve this to people who have a tendency to choke on stuff. I’m just sayin’.

But come on….she’s so excited that she “did it all by myself!!!” So just leave it. Warn the eaters there are half bananas in there and pass out knives to cut it.

Then add a layer of cookies and then the pudding. On top of the pudding, add another layer of cookies because “those are my favorite!”

Oh she was PARTICULAR about those cookies!

Look at that concentration! Cookie lining is very serious business.

Then pose:

I added another layer of banana flavored pudding to the top because we have my incredible Mother in law and Brother in law coming over to eat it and it needed to go a bit further. But this time, Brooklyn the Baker didn’t want to mix it like you’re supposed to because “it splashes, Mom! It’s gettin’ all over my Princess mitten!” So, just pray no one tastes the pudding chunks….

And cover up that ugly bad boy with whipped cream!

Of course, brother has smelled the whipped cream from the living room and must get in on the action

Get industrious and try to carve a cute bunny out of half of a banana for the top.

Get angry because it keeps falling over into the whipped cream, so chunk the banana bunny into the next room. Curse the bunny.

Stick your head into a tub of leftover whipped cream instead.

Tell Paula Deen to suck it and share the tub with a cute boy.

And that’s Banana Pudding according to Brooklyn the 4 year old……” ‘cept when we go to the Chinese place and you make me say I’m 3…but all the other times I’m 4.”

Thank you iHeartfaces for letting me share my Brooklyn’s recipe!

Be kind and cook with your kids!

Eat your heart out, Ree. I know you wish you were this good….but, come on….she’s 4 (unless we’re are the Chinese buffet….and then, ya know, it’s cheaper….). But, if you let us come have lunch with you, I’ll teach you everything Brooklyn knows. HAHAHA

