Austin looks, talks, and acts like Mike. If Mike enjoys it, Austin enjoys it. They are both manly men, football lovers, and independent. Austin is quieter, more reserved like Mike as well.

Chandler enjoys art, has a relaxed personality, and a ready smile. Chandler is more outgoing, with a great sense of humor. Chandler is more like me in many ways.

Brooklyn can be a total girlie-girl, and still enjoy playing with the boys outside. She’s the spitting image of me (poor thing), but is much more reserved like Mike.

They have characteristics of their parents. Some are inherited through our genes, and others are learned through close contact with us. We are a close family that does almost everything together, anything from taste in music, opinions on politics, fears, likes and dislikes, can be easily influencing to the other family members. Even things as the words we say and how we say them.

If we were not close, these influences would not have taken root in my children. They would be influenced by who they spend time with.

The same is true with my Heavenly Father, if I spend my time with Him, I take on His characteristics. And what are those characteristics?

Galatians 5:22-23 says:

But the Holy Spirit produces this kind of fruit in our lives: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control. There is no law against these things!

If I am spending time with God in a regular prayer time and in His word, then the evidence of that will be revealed in me and my characteristics.

Am I loving? Sometimes.

Am I joyful? Most of the time.

Do I have peace? It varies.

Am I patient? Well…..

Am I good? I do feed the homeless….

Do you see what I mean? We are influenced by what we spend our time doing and who we spend our time with. If I am lazy on my Quiet times, I am less patient, I won’t even sugar-coat that one. If I miss my Prayer times, I can be less than kind. If I’m spending more time with Godly friends, but not God Himself, I reflect the friend, not God.

How can we be loving when we waste our time doing UNlovely things? How can we be gentle to others when we don’t know, or aren’t spending time with the One who teaches gentleness?

If you are not mirroring love or self control, than you cannot tell me you are spending time with Christ. If you say you are, then spend more time with Him.

Wait, were those your toes or mine?

I want to have the characteristics of my Father in Heaven.

Who are you mirroring?

NOT my photo! This photo belongs to my friend, the wildly talented and funny, Rachel

My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me. John 10:27

