I’m reading a book called “Crazy Love” by Francis Chan.  He just puts everything in a way that my feeble brain can understand.  He writes:

In the parable of the sower, Jesus explained that the seed is the truth (The Word of God).  When the seed is flung onto the path, it is heard but quickly stolen away.  When the seed is tossed onto the rocks, no roots take hold;  there is no appearance of depth and growth because of the good soil, but it is only surface level.  When the seed is spread among the thorns, it is received but soon suffocated by life’s worries, riches and pleasures.  But when the seed is sown in good soil, it grows, takes root and produces fruit.”  (Ch. 4)

I always assumed I was good soil!  I’m a good girl!  I’m nice, I do what is expected of me, etc etc.  But, I haven’t always been “good soil”.  I’ve only been good soil for a few years!  I allowed myself to be distracted by everything the World had to offer:  jobs, money, activities, addictions (PEPSI), and even church commitments!  Yes, even church commitments. 

Being good soil is described as:  your relationship with God actually changed the way you live. Do you see evidence of God’s kingdom in your life?  Are you satisfied being “godly enough” to get yourself to heaven, or to look good in comparison to others?  Or can you say with Paul that you “want to know Christ and the power of His resurrection and the fellowship of sharing in His sufferings, becoming like Him in His death” (Phil. 3:10)?

I want the evidence of Christ in my life to transform every fiber of my being….even down to my Pepsi addiction!  It isn’t that God said it was bad and I’d go to hell if I drank it, it was one of those things would I give it up for God?  Could I give up something I loved so dearly?  Could I break such an incredible addiction as my Pepsi habit?  Yep. 

I’ve never wanted to go anywhere or do anything outside of my cushy comfort zone.  I was comfortable being “just saved enough”…..but that just isn’t enough for me!  My relationship has become so much that I want God to jump in here, roll around, throw doors open, shine the Light,  mess stuff up, and completely get comfortable! 

I’m learning to live in FAITH and allow Christ to move me where He wants me, and instead of looking ahead with fear and worries of what He is doing, I’m incredibly excited!

And one of the upcoming journeys is a trip to MEXICO!  YAY!  Last year, I was so afraid of seeing things in the natural, that I didn’t even give God a chance to make this journey happen!  And yes, in hindsight, that particular trip probably wouldn’t have worked for me at all, but I didn’t even give God the chance to make it happen.  I saw the funding wasn’t going to be there, and I gave up before I could fail. 

I’m afraid of failure.  Pure and simple.  I don’t want to look silly or even worse……STUPID.  So I quit before I fail.

This year, I’m fully believing in God to make this trip happen!  And I’m fully going to trust Him!  If I look stupid, then I’ll just have to look stupid as I’m trusting God! 

I’m leaving by myself (no family) with a few from my church and we’re leaving the end of June!  And somehow, someway, God will make the way possible! 

And I promise to take lots of pictures!  HAAAAAAAAAAAA!

Be kind and be willing to examine how warm your relationship with God is! 

Dana

DSC_0130 PRINT

