Tags

, , , , ,

This week’s photo was a definite challenge.   I’m not too proud to admit it.  LOL

When a photo is out of focus, it’s really difficult to make IN focus.  When you do, you increase the noise (pixel fragments) in the photo.   The photo really is super adorable though, and the girl couldn’t be any cuter!  (I’m a sucker for girls in bows!  :D )    So, in order to fix the photo IN-CAMERA, obviously you would need to fix the focus issue:  motion blur, exposure, etc.

ORIGINAL PHOTO:


So, what can you do after you already have the photo and still want to try and save it?  Well, this is the point of this Fix it Friday!

EDIT #1

I just tried to disguise it as much as possible without increasing the noise in the photo.  Sometimes, converting the photo to Black and White can help save the photo.   Exposure issues, focus (to a degree), and white balance can be saved with the help of a Black and White conversion.   So, this was my go-to edit today!  (Yes, I may be a cheater and I’m just fine with that.)  I used Florabella’s Luxe action “B/W mink” and then just cropped in.  I sharpened using USM set at 80/2/0.

EDIT #2 (yes, I only have 2 edits this week….I’m weak.  And a cheater.  I’ll own it.)

My other idea for an edit was to DISGUISE the focus issue.  (Or distract you, one or the other)  I opened a NEW transparent document in Photoshop and used a background/texture from Simplicity Photo Veils called “Brave” as my base for the photo.  I added the photo as a new layer over the Veil and then using my select tool, I made an oval around the picture.  Then did SELECT>INVERT then SELECT>MODIFY>FEATHER at 250 pixels then used my eraser to blend the edges of the photo so there weren’t any sharply defined edges and everything blended together well.  I added a linen texture (not sure where I got it from) and added that in erasing back the parts of the photo I didn’t want the texture on (her face).  I wanted it to look like a canvas print.  Then I just added the verse.

Dana

I enjoy long walks on the beach, long-stemmed red roses……wait…..wrong profile.

I’m just teasing.  ;)  Just wanted to see who pays attention to the written diarrhea my fingers produce from this distorted mind I have.

My photographic journey began in July in 2007 where I assumed I would purchase the expensive camera, and all my photos would be breathtaking, and I’d make a kajillion dollars. People would throw their wallets at me….I’d be famous and stuff….

I learned very quickly the error in my thinking.

It meant late late nights studying all I could and practice practice PRACTICE!

I’m not the best. I’m not the worst. I am learning, and I think it’s pretty acceptable to camp out there for awhile….maybe the rest of my life. For when I have reached perfection, what more is there to do?

Dana’s Photography Facebook fanpage

