This is gonna have to be a quick one……I’m JUDGING this week, folks!  Boy HOWDY!  There are some amazing entries this week!

So, this is gonna be fast.

Original:

First I cloned out the photographer out of the bumper of the truck.  (I know…..I didn’t see it at first either!  LOL  Eagle eyes baby, eagle eyes!)

Then I did a boost action on it.  Then reduced the yellows in hue/saturation.  Then sharpened at 80/1.5/0.

Result:

EDIT #1:

Pretty nice!  Acceptable…..but, it looks a little odd with that white background!  So, let’s throw in a SKY!  😀

EDIT #2

No, you are right….it’s not perfect.  I’m kind of rushing a little bit.  I would NOT do that for a client.  But, it is what it is today.

I used another photograph I have taken of a beautiful sunset over the snow….yes, it is really pretty.   Makes me want it to snow instead of these 90+ degree days…..

Anyway, I made a new layer and copy and pasted my sunset picture over top of the photo.  Then, I reduced the opacity of the sunset picture until I could line up everything right:  stuff like the tree line.  There was a tree line in the original photo and in the sunset photo, so I had to work the 2 to match.  Then I reduced the original picture back into the sunset layer a little at a time.

Then, to help the believability of the sunset, I used a brush with a light opacity and selected one of the sunset colors and did a light brush over some of the reflections on the truck.  Not a lot, just a little.  VIOLA!  Instant sky!    Cool huh?  Now, I wish the ducks weren’t directly behind his head….but I was rushing.  I know, I’m a slacker.  Whatever.  I’m trying.  😉 Embrace my slack-ness.   😀

Now, here’s another hint that will help with the sky as well:  if you use an off-camera strobe (I have a sb600), then you can properly expose for the sky, while artificially lighting your subject.  That will give you proper exposure on BOTH.  However, I don’t do it either…..I just use a fake sky.  I’m a fake-sky-making-slacker.  Love me, please.

There ya go!

Be kind-

Dana

I enjoy long walks on the beach, long-stemmed red roses……wait…..wrong profile.

I’m just teasing.  ;) Just wanted to see who pays attention to the written diarrhea my fingers produce from this distorted mind I have.

My photographic journey began in July in 2007 where I assumed I would purchase the expensive camera, and all my photos would be breathtaking, and I’d make a kajillion dollars. People would throw their wallets at me….I’d be famous and stuff….

I learned very quickly the error in my thinking.

It meant late late nights studying all I could and practice practice PRACTICE!

I’m not the best. I’m not the worst. I am learning, and I think it’s pretty acceptable to camp out there for awhile….maybe the rest of my life. For when I have reached perfection, what more is there to do?

Dana’s Photography Facebook fanpage

