Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This photo is thanks to Keli this week!

ORIGINAL PHOTO

Edit #1

This week, I have to confess, I didn’t do any of the easy, quick fixes I normally do.  I’m sorry, I was totally obsessed with a new action set this week!  :D  I started to do an easy fix like I always do, but then I’d notice my new set of shiny actions and just ended up playing with those instead.  I know…..I’m embarrassed for me.

I will reiterate again:  if you do NOT know how to properly edit in photoshop FIRST, learn that before you play with actions.  It’s a vital skill to learn.

So for this edit, I used Marta loves color’s Urban desaturation madness from Essential kits.  (This may be my all time favorite right now.  It’s YUMMY!)  Then I used “eyes like marbles” from Marta loves it simple because I wanted to see how different it was from what I normally do.  I like how adjustable it is and it didn’t look all ALIEN.  But, I still reduced the opacity down 65%.  Then I used a high pass filter on the entire image to sharpen it, and then erased the mulch because I wanted that to be more muted.  Then I did a little vignette reduced to 55%.

And that’s my edit #1!

Edit #2

I used Essential Kit’s basic pop and defog, then I warmed it a little with their warm me reduced to 36%.  And then, because I couldn’t seem to stop myself, I ran their Sweet summer days reduced to 37%.

(Yes, someone may have to stage an intervention with me and Essential kits.  {le sigh}  I love them.   Je t’aime, kit actions essentielles.  Cours avec moi et de vivre avec moi pour toujours.)

I cropped closer in because I loved her sweet expression and her adorable piggies….I know this is “Chalk Week” and I literally cut out the chalk and the purpose of the photo, but ya know, she’s just so darn cute, I couldn’t resist.

Dana

I have 19 children, and yes, I delivered every one!  This is my wonderful husband Jim Bob…..wait, no, that’s me, I need to turn off the television.

My photographic journey began in July in 2007 where I assumed I would purchase the expensive camera, and all my photos would be breathtaking, and I’d make a kajillion dollars. People would throw their wallets at me….I’d be famous and stuff….

I learned very quickly the error in my thinking.

It meant late late nights studying all I could and practice practice PRACTICE!

I’m not the best. I’m not the worst. I am learning, and I think it’s pretty acceptable to camp out there for awhile….maybe the rest of my life. For when I have reached perfection, what more is there to do?

Dana’s Photography Facebook fanpage

