I’m just going to put this out there……{sigh} oh Arden Prucha…..if I hadn’t met you and you weren’t so amazingly nice, I might have to hate you. It should be some sort of law that you can’t be this pretty. But she’s simply so sweet, you can’t hate her. But I didn’t go to any extraordinary measures either to make you more beautiful in photoshop. 😉 No skin softening….no make up applications….and you don’t have any wrinkles anyway, so that was easy. LOL Then again….you didn’t need any help in the first place! LOL Darn those pretty nice girls! HAHAHAHAHAHAAA!

Which has nothing at all to do with the Fix it Friday. {ahem} And….redirecting….now.

For this week’s Fix it Friday, I wanted to keep that fantasy, romantic feel to the photo. Here is the original photo:

Here is my first fix:

I used Florabella’s “ambrosia” action from the Florabella Luxe set. It just gave it such a nice sunny feel to the photo. Then I did a high pass filter to sharpen it just a touch. Then, I used a photo texture from Simplicity photo veils, I think it was called 3-OS. I only just learned how to do these right. Funny huh? I’m such a nerd. HAHAHAHA It helps to read the directions. That’s all I’m saying. 😉

So I used this amazing texture, and then burned some of the background just a touch to make the subjects pop out a little more. I did that rather than a vignette because I wanted to control what was burned and what was not. When you use a vignette, if it’s not done right, you can tell you’ve used a vignette and I didn’t want that. I wanted the subtleness that I could get doing it by hand.

And that was it for that photo!

I did a black and white version of it…..but frankly, I don’t really like it and if I had time, I’d do it over again. I would not give this to a client. I’m just sayin’. I’m nothing if not HONEST.

And because apparently I have no pride either, here’s the so-so black and white I’m not happy with:

I used Florabella’s BW mink from her Luxe collection, reduced the mink down on it because I didn’t want it so brown. I dodged some of her husband’s under eye circles (I know, it must be so hard to be so good looking….I wouldn’t know about that. HAHAHAHA) but left his smile lines around his eyes. Got a second? OK, here is my theory on that: maybe because I’m “old” now, but I love the realness that wrinkles are. They tell a story. In this photo, you see the smile lines around his eyes and you know he is a happy guy. That knowledge made him all the more handsome to me. I know that he would probably NOT agree, and I know he’ll never see this anyway, so I can say that. And, I’m very happily married to my own McDreamy and I leave his wrinkles alone too, and we’ve been married almost 19 years, so I’m old and happily married and I can say that Arden’s McDreamy is handsome. All that to say, I left his wrinkles alone.

Anyway, all that yammering……I used a linen texture and soft light to give it a little more texture and then I did a blur action all around the photo to give it that mysterious, foggy feeling. I then erased back in the subjects (not very well. I did it quickly and did not take my time on it and I’m not happy with that). Hey, I’m human and I make mistakes. I know you’re stunned to hear that. 😉

Then I burned the edges myself using the burn tool so I could control where the burn was. It’s an OK photo, but not great. I should have taken my time on it. I’m on Santa’s naughty list now for sure.

Be kind!

Dana

My photographic journey began in July in 2007 where I assumed I would purchase the expensive camera, and all my photos would be breathtaking, and I’d make a kajillion dollars. People would throw their wallets at me….I’d be famous and stuff….

I learned very quickly the error in my thinking.

It meant late late nights studying all I could and practice practice PRACTICE!

I’m not the best. I’m not the worst. I am learning, and I think it’s pretty acceptable to camp out there for awhile….maybe the rest of my life. For when I have reached perfection, what more is there to do?

Dana’s Photography Facebook fanpage (Feel free to LIKE me! I’d be honored! And a little giddy….I might do a little dance of joy!)

Dana’s website: Dana’s Photography (Click on that a few times so my ratings will go up! LOL Wait…..does that work?)

